EL SEGUNDO, CA The Los Angeles D-Fenders overpowered the Iowa Energy 95-79 to cap off the winningest regular season in NBA Development League history. Coincidentally, the D-Fenders 38th win surpassed the previous record-holding Iowa teams that won 37 games in both 2009-10 and 2010-11.

The D-Fenders (38-12), who concluded the year as the league-leader in defensive field goal percentage (44.1 FG%), used defense to secure the record-setting win as they limited Iowa to a 37.3 field goal clip on Saturday night. It was the 12th time a D-Fenders opponent shot below 40 percent in a game this season.

Mardy Collins (game-high 23 points, 6 rebounds, 6 assists) and Jamario Moon (20 points, 8 rebounds, 3 blocks) guided the D-Fenders offensive attack that shot 51.3 percent from the field and 43.8 percent from beyond the arc. Additionally, Andre Ingram tallied 14 points along with five assists, and Elijah Millsap scored 13 points and pulled down a season-high 16 rebounds in the victory.

Iowa (25-25) saw just three players score in double-figures, including Mike Efevberha (20 points, 3 steals), Moses Ehambe (19 points) and Brandon Ewing (10 points, 7 rebounds, 10 assists).

Prior to the 2011-12 season, the most wins a D-Fenders team posted in a season was 32 back in 2007-08. Now, after setting the best record in D-League history, the D-Fenders will gear up for their second postseason run in franchise history.

After clinching the best record in the league, Los Angeles will be the first of three teams to select its opening-round adversary this season. The selection and announcement will be made tomorrow afternoon.