Print RSS Sign-Up for Insider


Box score

Des Moines, IA, April 11, 2010 – Mark Tyndale and Pat Carroll combined to score 47 points as the Iowa Energy beat the Utah Flash 111-92 to advance to round two of the 2010 NBA D-League playoffs. The win moves Iowa into a matchup with the Tulsa 66ers, who defeated the Sioux Falls Skyforce in the first round.

Iowa, who evened the series 1-1 on Friday night in Des Moines, started off slow on Sunday as Utah jumped out to 47-36 lead with 4:39 remaining in the 2nd quarter. The Energy responded with a quick 7-0 run to get the home team to within four points. The teams traded runs as Utah went into the halftime break leading 54-51. Tyndale and center Connor Atchley scored the final 15 points of the half for Iowa.

The Energy opened the 2nd half with a 10-2 run capped by a slam dunk by Phoenix Suns assignee Taylor Griffin. Later in the quarter, a Brian Hamilton jump shot cut the Flash deficit to 66-64 with 4:39 left. Iowa clamped down on Utah from that point on, as Utah went scoreless in the final 4:39 of the 3rd quarter, allowing the Energy to extend their lead to 76-64.

A pair of 3-pointers by Carroll and Jeff Trepagnier extended Iowa’s lead to 16 points early in the final quarter. Iowa’s lead grew to 23 points in the game before emptying their bench.

Atchley finished the game with 19 points and 11 rebounds while Griffin pulled down a game high 14 rebounds.

Utah was led by Greene’s 22 points and 10 rebounds. Bennet Davis added 20 points and 10 boards in the loss.

Iowa will head to Tulsa for game 1 of the 2nd round later this week. The Energy will host game 2 on Sunday, April 18th at 4pm. Game 3, if necessary, would be played on Tuesday, April 20th at 7pm in Des Moines.