Mad Ants Announce Charlotte Bobcats as New Affiliate

The National Basketball Association and the NBA Development League, the official minor league of the NBA, today announced the affiliation system for the 2012-13 season. The Charlotte Bobcats will join the Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, and Milwaukee Bucks to become the Fort Wayne Mad Ants’ fourth NBA affiliate.

"We are so happy to have the Bobcats join the Bucks, Pacers, and Pistons as our affiliates," said Mad Ants President Jeff Potter. "The Bobcats are a young and improving team, and we look forward to working with them to help both our franchises in the future."

“The D-League has always been a valuable resource for our organization and we look forward to our new affiliation with Fort Wayne,” said Bobcats President of Basketball Operations Rod Higgins.

For the eighth consecutive year, every NBA team has an NBA D-League team to which it may assign players. During the 2011-12 season, the NBA D-League saw all-time highs in NBA player assignments (67) and individual players assigned (44) from their NBA parent clubs. Jeremy Lin headlines the group of 44 players to benefit from the assignment system during the 2011-12 season.

Of the 16 NBA D-League teams playing during the 2012-13 season, five are fully owned and operated by their NBA affiliates: the Austin Toros (San Antonio Spurs), Canton Charge (Cleveland Cavaliers), Dakota Wizards (Golden State Warriors), Los Angeles D-Fenders (Los Angeles Lakers), and Tulsa 66ers (Oklahoma City Thunder). The Wizards have applied to relocate the team from Bismarck, North Dakota to Santa Cruz, California in a move that would bring the team closer to the Warriors. The Erie BayHawks (New York Knicks), Rio Grande Valley Vipers (Houston Rockets) and Springfield Armor (Brooklyn Nets) join the Stampede (Trail Blazers) and Red Claws (Celtics) as teams with ‘hybrid’ single-affiliation partnerships, where the NBA teams control their NBA D-League affiliates’ basketball operations. The Dallas Mavericks remain solely affiliated with the Texas Legends.

The remaining five NBA D-League teams will have three or four NBA parent teams: Bakersfield Jam (Atlanta Hawks, Los Angeles Clippers, Phoenix Suns, Toronto Raptors), Fort Wayne Mad Ants (Charlotte Bobcats, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, Milwaukee Bucks), Iowa Energy (Chicago Bulls, Denver Nuggets, New Orleans Hornets, Washington Wizards), Reno Bighorns (Memphis Grizzlies, Sacramento Kings, Utah Jazz), Sioux Falls Skyforce (Miami Heat, Minnesota Timberwolves, Orlando Magic, Philadelphia 76ers).

Season tickets for the 2012-2013 season are on sale now and start at just $99! For ticket information call 260-469-4667.