Mad Ants to Receive 1st Pick in 2012 Draft

FORT WAYNE, IN (October 17, 2012) – The NBA Development League announced today that the Fort Wayne Mad Ants will receive the first pick of its 2012 Draft that will take place via teleconference on Nov. 2 at 7:00 p.m. ET.

The 2012 NBA D-League Draft order was determined based on teams that did not qualify for the previous season’s playoffs, in reverse order of record, followed by those teams that did quality for the previous season’s playoffs, also in reverse order of record.

“The new draft format will help us start this season off on the right foot,” said Mad Ants Head Coach, Duane Ticknor. “I’m looking forward to the opportunity to bring in an impact player who can immediately contribute and make a difference in this league.”

Each of the NBA D-League’s 16 teams will be given one pick in each of the eight rounds. No trades will be permitted during the draft and only players signed to an NBA Development League Standard Player Contract are eligible to be selected.

The order for each round of the 2012 NBA D-League Draft is as follows:

1. Fort Wayne Mad Ants

2. Sioux Falls Skyforce

3. Idaho Stampede

4. Maine Red Claws

5. Reno Bighorns

6. Tulsa 66ers

7. Rio Grande Valley Vipers

8. Texas Legends

9. Iowa Energy

10. Canton Charge

11. Bakersfield Jam

12. Erie BayHawks

13. Santa Cruz Warriors

14. Springfield Armor

15. Austin Toros

16. Los Angeles D-Fenders

The Mad Ants will tip-off their 2012-13 season against the Erie Bayhawks on Friday, November 23rd at 7:30pm at the Memorial Coliseum. Season tickets for the 2012-2013 season are on sale now and start at just $99! For ticket information call 260-469-4667.