Lazare, Russell Named D-League All-Stars

The NBA Development League announced today that Mad Ants Darnell Lazare and Walker Russell Jr. have been selected to play in the sixth annual NBA D-League All-Star Game Presented by 26 Seconds on Saturday, Feb. 25, on Center Court at NBA All-Star Jam Session. The game will air live on NBA TV at 2 p.m. ET.

Lazare is averaging 18.5 points and 8 rebounds per game for the Mad Ants in 22 games. He recorded a season high 31 points and 11 rebounds on February 2nd against the Maine Red Claws.

Russell, who earned a call-up to the Detroit Pistons on Jan. 20, is averaging 4.0 points and 2.8 assists in 19.2 minutes over 11 games for Detroit, including an NBA-career-high 12 points and six rebounds on Feb. 1 at New Jersey.

Lazare will play on the East team with Tyrell Biggs (Canton Charge); Edwin Ubiles (Dakota Wizards); Keith McLeod (Erie BayHawks); Marqus Blakely (Iowa Energy); Charles Garcia (Sioux Falls Skyforce); and JamesOn Curry, Jeff Foote, and Jerry Smith (Springfield Armor).