Kent Davison Named Head Coach of Fort Wayne’s NBA D-League Team

Fort Wayne, IN, May 23, 2007 – Kent Davison is coming back to Fort Wayne! Kent has been named the inaugural head coach of Fort Wayne’s new NBA Development League team.

To be introduced at a news conference at 2:00pm Wednesday at Memorial Coliseum, Davison is a 32-year coaching veteran and a familiar face to many Fort Wayne hoops fans. Davison served as the Fort Wayne Fury’s assistant coach from 1998-2000 and as head coach during the 2000-2001 season.

Davison’s coaching career spans high school, junior college, NCAA Division I and professional basketball. He has served as a head coach in the USBL, CBA and NBA Development League. In 2000, he led the Dodge City Legend to the USBL championship in the franchise’s first season, and was named USBL Coach of the Year. Davison was the Head Coach of the Roanoke Dazzle in the NBA D-League from 2001-2006. Kent led the Dazzle to multiple playoff appearances, including the championship game in 2006. Kent spent last season with the Colorado 14ers of the D-League, where he also helped lead them to the Championship game.

Known for his teaching skills, attention to detail and commitment to basketball fundamentals, Davison has a reputation for developing young basketball players at the college and professional levels. He has had 13 NBA call-ups among his professional players and helped develop dozens of Division I players while coaching at the junior college level.

Jeff Potter, President of the Fort Wayne NBA D-league team, commented, “Kent is a proven winner and an outstanding teacher – just the combination we need to succeed in the NBA Development League. The reason Kent is the perfect coach in this league is because he knows how to develop players for the NBA, as well as integrating the NBA players who will be playing for us from our affiliates into his system. His teams always play hard, play the right way, and, most importantly, win. Kent will have our team playing a brand of basketball Fort Wayne fans will absolutely love.”

Now entering its seventh season, the NBA Development League will bring to Fort Wayne future NBA stars and some of the best young talent playing the game today. The D-League currently includes the Albuquerque Thunderbirds (N.M.), Anaheim Arsenal (Calif.), Arkansas RimRockers (Little Rock), Austin Toros (Texas), Bakersfield Jam (Calif.), Colorado 14ers (Broomfield), Dakota Wizards (Bismarck, N.D.), Fort Worth Flyers (Texas), Idaho Stampede (Boise), Los Angeles D-Fenders (Calif.), Sioux Falls Skyforce (S.D.) and Tulsa 66ers (Okla.). In addition to the new Fort Wayne franchise, the D-League has already announced expansion teams for the 2007-2008 season for Des Moines, IA; the Rio Grande Valley in South Texas; and Orem, Utah (the Utah Flash).