BayHawks’ Johnson and Temple Named NBA D-League All-Stars

Erie, Pennsylvania, Thursday, February 3, 2011 – Erie BayHawks players Ivan Johnson and Garrett Temple have been named 2011 NBA Development League All-Stars. Erie is one of just six teams to have two players receive the honor.

Johnson and Temple will join NBA All-Stars in Los Angeles on All-Star Weekend to play in the fifth annual NBA D-League All-Star Game on Saturday, Feb. 19. The D-League game will take place on Center Court at NBA All-Star Jam Session. The game will air live on NBA TV at 5 p.m. ET.

Johnson is currently third in the league in scoring, averaging 19.9 points per game to go along with 7.4 rebounds and 2.5 assists. The Erie forward also recorded a League-high and franchise-best 46 points in a win at Maine on January 14.

Temple was Erie’s first GATORADE call-up of the year and is currently under contract with the Milwaukee Bucks. Prior to joining the Bucks, Temple was averaging 14.4 points, 6.2 rebounds and 3.4 assists per game with Erie.

Tulsa 66ers head coach Nate Tibbetts and his assistant coach Dale Osbourne will coach the West, while Iowa Energy head coach Nick Nurse and his assistant coach Nate Bjorkgren will coach the East. Both coaching staffs were selected based on their teams having the highest winning percentage in their respective conferences through Feb. 1. Prior to the game, both coaches will choose starting lineups for their own teams.

A combination of voting by the league’s 16 head coaches and fan balloting on was used to select the 20 NBA D-League All-Stars, 10 from each conference. Players who have been selected must be on an active NBA D-League roster to compete in the NBA D-League All-Star Game.

Seven of this year’s NBA D-League All-Stars, including Temple, are currently in the NBA after earning GATORADE Call-Ups this season: Zabian Dowdell (Tulsa 66ers to Phoenix Suns); Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers to San Antonio Spurs); Mustafa Shakur (Rio Grande Valley Vipers to Washington Wizards); Chris Johnson (Dakota Wizards to Portland Trail Blazers); Temple (BayHawks to Milwaukee Bucks); Trey Johnson (Bakersfield Jam to Toronto Raptors) and Orien Greene (Utah Flash to New Jersey Nets).

NBA Development League All Stars

East Team: Chris Johnson (Dakota Wizards), Ivan Johnson and Garrett Temple (Erie BayHawks), Walker Russell Jr. (Fort Wayne Mad Ants), Othyus Jeffers, Courtney Sims and Curtis Stinson (Iowa Energy), DeShawn Sims (Maine Red Claws), Patrick Ewing Jr. and Dexter Pittman (Sioux Falls Skyforce).

West Team: Marcus Cousin (Austin Toros), Trey Johnson (Bakersfield Jam), Shane Edwards (New Mexico Thunderbirds), Jeff Adrien and Mustafa Shakur (Rio Grande Valley Vipers), Joe Alexander and Sean Williams (Texas Legends), Larry Owens and Zabian Dowdell (Tulsa 66ers) and Orien Greene (Utah Flash).