BayHawks Rookies Receive D-League Honors

The Erie BayHawks saw a great deal of success during the 2011-12 season and the good fortune continued on Wednesday as two players received recognition for their play. BayHawks D.J. Kennedy and Mychel Thompson were elected to the All-Rookie Second Team, as voted on by all 16 NBA Development League coaches. Kennedy also was named to the All-NBA D-League honorable mention squad.

Kennedy finished the season with the Cleveland Cavaliers following a stellar rookie campaign. For the season, the St. John’s product averaged 15.7 points, 7.3 rebounds and 4.4 assist per contest. Kennedy was the only player in the league to finish in the top twenty in scoring (17), rebounding (16) and assists (17).

While Kennedy finished the season in Cleveland, it was Thompson who started the season with the Cavaliers. The former Pepperdine Wave averaged 13.8 points, 4.1 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game during his rookie season. He also shot 40.9% from three, good for 17th in the league.

Justin Dentmon, the 2012 NBA D-League Most Valuable Player, and member of the 2012 NBA D-League Champion Austin Toros, is joined by Reno Bighorns guard Blake Ahearn, now a member of the Utah Jazz, Dakota Wizards’ forward Edwin Ubiles, Los Angeles D-Fenders forward Malcolm Thomas and Rio Grande Valley Vipers center Greg Smith on the 2012 All-NBA D-League First Team. All five members of the First Team earned GATORADE Call-Ups during the 2011-12 season.

Named to the Second Team were 2012 NBA D-League Impact Player of the year and 2012 Champion Eric Dawson of the Austin Toros, Springfield Armor center Jeff Foote, Los Angeles D-Fenders guard Courtney Fortson, who finished the NBA season with the Houston Rockets, Tulsa 66ers forward Marcus Lewis and Los Angeles D-Fenders guard Elijah Millsap. Of the five members of the Second Team, three spent time in the NBA during the 2011-12 season.

The Third Team consists of Maine Red Claws guard Morris Almond, who finished the NBA season with the Washington Wizards, Los Angeles D-Fenders forward Brandon Costner, forward Dennis Horner and guard Jerry Smith, both of the Springfield Armor, and Texas Legends center Sean Williams, who is currently with the Boston Celtics. Four of the five members of the Third Team earned GATORADE Call-Ups during the 2011-12 season.

In total, 12 of the 15 players selected to this year’s All-NBA D-league First, Second, and Third Teams earned GATORADE Call-Ups during the season and three finished the NBA regular season on NBA rosters. An additional three players earning Honorable Mention accolades earned GATORADE Call-Ups this season.

An additional 10 players earned All-NBA D-League Honorable Mentions, including Los Angeles’ Zach Andrews, Springfield’s JamesOn Curry, Dakota’s Marcus Dove, Mike Efevberha of the Iowa Energy, Reno’s Andre Emmett, Dakota’s Stefhon Hannah, Erie’s Kennedy, Renaldo Major of the Bakersfield Jam, Mikki Moore of the Idaho Stampede, who finished the season with the Golden State Warriors, and Tulsa’s Ryan Reid.

Ten first-year professionals were selected to the 2012 NBA D-League All-Rookie First and Second teams. The First Team is made up of 2012 NBA D-League Rookie of the Year Ubiles along with Tulsa’s Dwight Buycks, the Fort Wayne Mad Ants’ Cameron Jones, Rio Grande Valley’s Smith and Los Angeles’ Thomas. The Second Team is comprised of Bakerfield’s Mustapha Farrakhan, Kyle Gibson of the Canton Charge, Erie’s Kennedy and Thompson, and Bakersfield’s Jamie Vanderbeken.

The 2012 NBA D-League All-Defensive First team is made up of the 2012 NBA D-League Defensive Player of the year, Dakota’s Hannah, along with his Wizards teammate Dove, Springfield’s Smith, Los Angeles’ Thomas and Texas’ Williams. The Second Team includes Tulsa’s Jerome Dyson, who finished the season with the New Orleans Hornets, and his 66ers teammates Lewis and Larry Owens, along with Los Angeles’ Fortson and Idaho’s Moore.

Two players who earned GATORADE Call-Ups to the NBA during the 2011-12 season earned All-Rookie or All-Defensive team honors.