Three Jam Players Earn All-NBA D-League Honors

BAKERSFIELD, May 2, 2012 – The Bakersfield Jam forward Renaldo Major earned an All-NBA D-League Honorable Mention, the team announced today. Jam guard Mustapha Farrakhan and center Jamie Vanderbeken were selected to the 2012 NBA D-League All-Rookie Second Team.

Justin Dentmon, the 2012 NBA Development League Most Valuable Player, and member of the 2012 NBA D-League Champion Austin Toros, is joined by Reno Bighorns guard Blake Ahearn, now a member of the Utah Jazz, Dakota Wizards’ forward Edwin Ubiles, Los Angeles D-Fenders forward Malcolm Thomas and Rio Grande Valley Vipers center Greg Smith on the 2012 All-NBA D-League First Team, as voted on the NBA D-League’s 16 head coaches. All five members of the First Team earned GATORADE Call-Ups during the 2011-12 season.

In total, 12 of the 15 players selected to this year’s All-NBA D-league First, Second, and Third Teams earned GATORADE Call-Ups during the season and three finished the NBA regular season on NBA rosters. An additional three players earning Honorable Mention accolades earned GATORADE Call-Ups this season.

An additional 10 players earned All-NBA D-League Honorable Mentions, including Los Angeles’ Zach Andrews, Springfield’s JamesOn Curry, Dakota’s Marcus Dove, Mike Efevberha of the Iowa Energy, Reno’s Andre Emmett, Dakota’s Stefhon Hannah, the Erie BayHawks' D.J. Kennedy, who finished the season with the Cleveland Cavaliers, Renaldo Major of the Bakersfield Jam, Mikki Moore of the Idaho Stampede, who finished the season with the Golden State Warriors, and Tulsa’s Ryan Reid.

Ten first-year professionals were selected to the 2012 NBA D-League All-Rookie First and Second teams. The First Team is made up of 2012 NBA D-League Rookie of the Year Ubiles along with Tulsa’s Dwight Buycks, the Fort Wayne Mad Ants’ Cameron Jones, Rio Grande Valley’s Smith and Los Angeles’ Thomas. The Second Team is comprised of Bakerfield’s Mustapha Farrakhan, Kyle Gibson of the Canton Charge, Erie’s Kennedy and Mychel Thompson, and Bakersfield’s Jamie Vanderbeken.

To view full NBA D-League Honors, click here.