Jam Announces 2012-13 Season Affiliates

BAKERSFIELD, July 17, 2012 – The Bakersfield Jam will affiliate with the Atlanta Hawks, Los Angeles Clippers, Phoenix Suns, and Toronto Raptors for the 2012-13 NBA Development League season, the team announced today.

For the eighth consecutive year, each NBA team has one NBA D-League team to which it may assign players. During the 2011-12 season, the NBA D-League saw all-time highs in NBA player assignments (67) and individual players assigned (44) from their NBA parent clubs.

Beginning in the 2012-13 season, NBA players in the first three years of their NBA careers may be assigned to their NBA D-League affiliate an unlimited number of times, according to the NBA Collective Bargaining Agreement. For the second consecutive year, players beyond the first three years of their NBA careers may be assigned to their NBA D-League affiliate with their consent and the consent of the NBA Players Association.

The 2012-13 season will mark the first year of Bakersfield’s affiliation with the Atlanta Hawks. “We look forward to our new affiliation with the Bakersfield franchise,” said Hawks President of Basketball Operations and GM Danny Ferry. “We believe in the value of the NBA Development League as it provides a tremendous opportunity to continue developing our young players. This is an exciting partnership that will benefit both franchises.”

The Jam will enter the fourth year of their affiliation relationship with the Los Angeles Clippers. “The D-League is a valuable resource to our organization and we’re happy to continue our relationship with the Bakersfield Jam,” said Clippers Head Coach Vinny Del Negro.

Bakersfield will enter the second year of their affiliation with the Phoenix Suns.

Bakersfield Jam and Toronto Raptors will also enter the second year of their affiliation. “We are pleased to be affiliated with the Bakersfield Jam for a second consecutive season as the coaching staff and administration were great to deal with. We hope to utilize this tremendous resource again this season,” said Toronto Raptors President and General Manager, Bryan Colangelo.

"We are looking forward to continuing our relationship with the Clippers, Suns, and Raptors. We are excited to begin a new partnership with the Atlanta Hawks as Danny Ferry, coaching staff, and the entire Hawks are a first class organization,” added Bakersfield Jam Head Coach, Will Voigt. “We are looking forward in helping our affiliates develop young NBA players and have them gain valuable experience.”

Of the 16 NBA D-League teams playing during the 2012-13 season, five are fully owned and operated by their NBA affiliates: the Austin Toros (San Antonio Spurs), Canton Charge (Cleveland Cavaliers), Dakota Wizards (Golden State Warriors), Los Angeles D-Fenders (Los Angeles Lakers), and Tulsa 66ers (Oklahoma City Thunder). The Wizards have applied to relocate the team from Bismarck, North Dakota to Santa Cruz, California in a move that would bring the team closer to the Warriors. The Erie BayHawks (New York Knicks), Rio Grande Valley Vipers (Houston Rockets) and Springfield Armor (Brooklyn Nets) join the Stampede (Trail Blazers) and Red Claws (Celtics) as teams with ‘hybrid’ single-affiliation partnerships, where the NBA teams control their NBA D-League affiliates’ basketball operations. The Dallas Mavericks remain solely affiliated with the Texas Legends.

The remaining five NBA D-League teams will have three or four NBA parent teams: Bakersfield Jam (Atlanta Hawks, Los Angeles Clippers, Phoenix Suns, Toronto Raptors), Fort Wayne Mad Ants (Charlotte Bobcats, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, Milwaukee Bucks), Iowa Energy (Chicago Bulls, Denver Nuggets, New Orleans Hornets, Washington Wizards), Reno Bighorns (Memphis Grizzlies, Sacramento Kings, Utah Jazz), Sioux Falls Skyforce (Miami Heat, Minnesota Timberwolves, Orlando Magic, Philadelphia 76ers).

The NBA D-League continues to be a launching pad for NBA talent – 27 percent of all NBA players on 2011-12 end-of-season rosters have played in the NBA D-League, while one third of the NBA Draft classes from 2009, 2010, and 2011 played in the NBA D-League.