Bakersfield Wins Thriller in Overtime

BAKERSFIELD, January 7, 2011 – The Bakersfield Jam (11-7) defeated the Iowa Energy (14-6) by a score of 133-130 in overtime Friday night. Jeremy Wise hit 2 clutch free throws to send the game into the extra period and helped lead the Jam to their 8th straight victory at home.

The Jam jumped out to an early lead, outscoring the Energy 35-23 in the first quarter, led by Trey Johnson’s 14 point effort. Iowa outscored Bakersfield 29-27 in the second period to cut the deficit down to 10 at halftime, 62-52. The Jam led by as many as 18 points in the first half.

Iowa came out strong in the 3rd, outscoring Bakersfield 34-22 and leading by 2 points at the end of the quarter, 84-86. The second half was a back and forth battle between the two teams and included 18 lead changes and 10 ties.

In overtime, Bakersfield took the lead first with a Trey Johnson jumper to bring the score to 122-120. Stephen Dennis hit 4 out of 6 pressure free throws as Iowa fouled to stay alive. Marqus Blakely sneaked out for a wide-open dunk as the clock ran out to bring the final score to 133-130.

Johnson finished with 31 points and 7 assists. Blakely contributed a double-double of 28 points and 11 rebounds, and had 5 steals. Wise also put-up a double-double of 11 points and 10 assists. Devin Ebanks tallied 25 points and 6 rebounds off the bench.

6 players scored in double figures for Iowa, led by Curtis Stinson with a double-double of 31 points and 12 assists. Forward Othyus Jeffers had 28 points. Courtney Sims finished with a double-double of 16 points and 16 rebounds. Guard Chris Lofton contributed 19 points. Michael Haynes tallied 12 points and Stefhon Hannah 14, off the bench.

The teams square off again tomorrow night at 7 o’clock at the Jam Events Center.

A complete box score for this game can be found at

Austin Toros Bakersfield Jam Canton Charge Delaware 87ers Erie BayHawks Fort Wayne Mad Ants Idaho Stampede Iowa Energy Los Angeles D-Fenders Maine Red Claws Reno Bighorns Rio Grande Valley Vipers Santa Cruz Warriors Sioux Falls Skyforce Springfield Armor Texas Legends Tulsa 66ers