Field Set for 2012 NBA Development League Semifinals Presented by BBVA

Canton and Austin join Los Angeles and Bakersfield in Second Round

NEW YORK, April 17, 2012 – The four-team field is set for the 2012 NBA Development League Semifinals presented by BBVA as the seventh-seeded Canton Charge defeated the second-seeded Springfield Armor, 115-106, and the third-seeded Austin Toros defeated the fifth-seeded Erie BayHawks, 99-85, to advance to the second round of the postseason. The Charge and Toros join the first-seeded Los Angeles D-Fenders and the sixth-seeded Bakersfield Jam in the semifinals.

Both best-of-three series will tip off on Friday, April 19 when the Toros travel to face the Charge at 7:30pm ET in Canton and the D-Fenders take on the Jam in Bakersfield at 10:00pm ET.

The D-Fenders advanced to the semifinals having defeated the eighth-seeded Iowa Energy in two games (114-103, 94-92), while the Jam moved on after downing the Dakota Wizards, the fourth seed, in two games (107-94, 93-91).

The dates and times of the best-of-three NBA D-League Finals will be released when that information becomes available. Every other game can be viewed live, online, for free via NBA Futurecast at


Los Angeles D-Fenders vs. Bakersfield Jam
Game 1 - Thursday, April 19 - Los Angeles @ Bakersfield, 10 PM
Game 2 - Saturday, April 21 - Bakersfield @ Los Angeles, 9:30 PM
*Game 3 - Tuesday, April 24 - Bakersfield @ Los Angeles, 10 PM

Austin Toros vs. Canton Charge
Game 1 – Thursday, April 19 – Austin @ Canton, 7:30 PM
Game 2 – Saturday, April 21 – Canton @ Austin, 8:30 PM
*Game 3 – Sunday, April 22 – Canton @ Austin, 7PM


Los Angeles D-Fenders 2, Iowa Energy 0
Game 1 – Los Angeles 114, Iowa 103
Game 2 – Los Angeles 94, Iowa 92

Bakersfield Jam 2, Dakota Wizards 0
Game 1 – Bakersfield 107, Dakota 94
Game 2 – Bakersfield 93, Dakota 91

Austin Toros 2, Erie BayHawks 1
Game 1 – Erie 108, Austin 95
Game 2 – Austin 97, Erie 87
Game 3- Austin 99, Erie 85

Canton Charge 2, Springfield Armor 1
Game 1 – Canton 108, Springfield 91
Game 2 – Springfield 125, Canton 116, OT
Game 3 – Canton 115, Springfield 106

The NBA Development League, founded in 2001, is the NBA’s official minor league. Featuring 16 teams with direct affiliations to NBA franchises, the NBA D-League is a proven developer of talent: 23 percent of players in the NBA at the conclusion of the 2010-11 season boasted NBA D-League experience, and the league continues to develop coaches, referees, and front-office staff for the NBA and its teams. In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA D-League Cares programs. The NBA D-League also advances the game of basketball as the research and development arm of the NBA. Throughout the league’s 11th season, fans can watch all NBA D-League games on NBA FUTURECAST.