For Immediate Release

The Los Angeles Clippers, the NBA and adidas will celebrate the 45th anniversary of the American Basketball Association’s (ABA) founding with a series of games during the NBA Hardwood Classics series. Starting on Thursday, Jan. 26 against the Memphis Grizzlies, the Clippers will wear commemorative uniforms of the Los Angeles Stars, an ABA franchise that played at the Los Angeles Sports Arena for two seasons from 1968 to 1970.

The ABA existed for 10 seasons from 1967 to 1976 when four of its teams - the Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers, New York Nets and San Antonio Spurs – joined the NBA. This season is their 35th Anniversary since joining the league. As part of the celebration, the Clippers will be one of nine teams along with the Charlotte Bobcats, Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Jersey Nets and San Antonio Spurs to recognize the anniversary by wearing commemorative uniforms.

The Clippers will wear their Hardwood Classics uniforms on:
  • January 26 vs. Memphis
  • February 11 at Charlotte
  • February 18 vs. San Antonio
  • February 22 vs. Denver
  • February 28 vs. Minnesota
  • March 5 at Minnesota
After one season in the ABA as the Anaheim Amigos, the team was bought by businessman Jim Kirst and moved to Los Angeles as the Stars. Coached by NBA Hall of Famer Bill Sharman, the Stars won 33 games in their first season before qualifying for the playoffs in 1969-70. The Stars advanced to the 1970 ABA Finals, eventually falling to the Indiana Pacers in six games. Following the 1969-70 season, the Stars moved to Utah.

NBA Hardwood Classics will run through the month of February and will feature 38 games with six televised nationally on ABC, ESPN, TNT and NBA TV.

The uniforms, made in conjunction with adidas, the league’s official outfitter, will feature designs from the team’s storied past or as originally worn by the former ABA franchises in their geographic region - Charlotte Bobcats (Carolina Cougars), Los Angeles Clippers (Los Angeles Stars), Memphis Grizzlies (Memphis Tams), Miami Heat (Miami Floridians), Minnesota Timberwolves (Minnesota Muskies), New Jersey Nets (New York Nets) and San Antonio Spurs (Texas Chaparrals).

Clippers Honor Shooting Stars | Classic Jerseys Take Team Back

Back to Top