For Immediate Release


2010-11 T-Mobile NBA Rookie of the Year Blake Griffin headlines the 2010-11 T-Mobile NBA All-Rookie First Team, the NBA announced today. Griffin was the lone unanimous selection. Clippers point guard Eric Bledsoe was selected to the T-Mobile NBA All-Rookie Second Team.

Griffin, who was selected first overall in the 2009 NBA Draft but missed the entire 2009-10 season due to injury (stress fracture, left knee), recorded a rookie-and team-leading 22.5 ppg (12th overall), 12.1 rpg (fourth overall) and 63 double-doubles (third overall). Griffin became the first rookie to average at least 20 points and 10 rebounds since Elton Brand (20.1 ppg, 10.0 rpg) in 1999-2000. A six-time T-Mobile Western Conference Rookie of the Month selection, Griffin became the first rookie to appear in an NBA All-Star Game since Yao Ming in 2003.

Bledsoe was selected with the 18th overall pick of the 2010 NBA Draft by Oklahoma City and then acquired by the Clippers in a draft day trade in exchange for a future protected first round draft pick. In his first NBA season, Bledsoe appeared in 81 games, making 25 starts and averaged 6.7 points, 2.8 rebounds, 3.6 assists and 22.7 minutes. Bledsoe led the Clippers with 92 steals and played in the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge during NBA All-Star Weekend. Amongst NBA rookies, Bledsoe finished 15th in scoring and 4th in assists.

Joining Griffin (58 points) on the T-Mobile NBA All-Rookie First Team are Washington’s John Wall (57 points), New York’s Landry Fields (56 points), Sacramento’s DeMarcus Cousins (54 points), and San Antonio’s Gary Neal (44).

The rest of the T-Mobile NBA All-Rookie Second Team consists of Detroit’s Greg Monroe (42 points), Minnesota’s Wesley Johnson (26 points), Utah’s Derrick Favors (18 points), and Indiana’s Paul George (14 points).

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the first team and five players for the second team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes.

Attached are the results of the balloting for the 2010-11 T-Mobile NBA All-Rookie teams:


PlayerTeamFirst (2 Pt)Second (1 Pt)Total
Blake GriffinL.A. Clippers29-58
John WallWashington28157
Landry FieldsNew York28-56
DeMarcus CousinsSacramento26254
Gary NealSan Antonio18844


PlayerTeamFirst (2 Pt)Second (1 Pt)Total
Greg MonroeDetroit131642
Wesley JohnsonMinnesota41826
Eric BledsoeL.A. Clippers-1919
Derrick FavorsUtah11618
Paul GeorgeIndiana11212

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first place votes in parentheses):
Ed Davis, Toronto, 10 (1); Evan Turner, Philadelphia, 12; Jordan Crawford, Washington, 12; Gordon Hayward, Utah, 7; Omer Asik, Chicago, 6 (1); Patrick Patterson, Houston, 5; Al-Farouq Aminu, Los Angeles Clippers, 3; Tiago Splitter, San Antonio, 3; Trevor Booker, Washington, 1; Christian Eyenga, Cleveland, 1; Ekpe Udoh, Golden State, 1.

T-Mobile USA, Inc.
Based in Bellevue, Wash., T-Mobile USA, Inc. is the U.S. wireless operation of Deutsche Telekom AG. By the end of the fourth quarter of 2010, approximately 130 million mobile customers were served by the mobile communication segments of the Deutsche Telekom group — 33.7 million by T-Mobile USA — all via GSM and UMTS, the world’s most widely-used digital wireless standards. Today, T-Mobile operates America's largest 4G network, and is delivering a compelling 4G experience across a broad lineup of leading devices in more places than competing 4G services. T-Mobile USA’s innovative wireless products and services empower and enable people to stay connected and productive while mobile. Multiple independent research studies continue to rank T-Mobile USA as a leader in customer care and customer satisfaction. For more information, please visit T-Mobile is a federally registered trademark of Deutsche Telekom AG. For further information on Deutsche Telekom, please visit

More News