A Chronology of the Teams in the NBA

The Boston Celtics and New York Knickerbockers are two NBA teams that started and still play in the same NBA city and have the same team name.

On June 6, 1946, the BAA or the Basketball Association of America was born and 11 franchises comprised the new professional basketball league: Boston, Providence, New York, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington formed the East Division and Cleveland, Detroit, Toronto, Chicago and St. Louis the West Division. (It should be noted that two other pro basketball leagues also existed at that time, the American - a weekend league in small eastern cities, and the National - made up of small cities in New York state and the Midwest).

On August 3, 1949, six surviving teams from the National League joined the BAA. The resulting 17-team league is renamed the National Basketball Association (the NBA).

NBA Team Chronology
Team History
ATLANTA HAWKS Tri-Cities Blackhawks (1949-51); Milwaukee Hawks (1951-55); St. Louis Hawks (1955-68); Atlanta Hawks (1968-present)
BOSTON CELTICS (1946-47-present)
CHARLOTTE BOBCATS (2004-05-present)
CHICAGO BULLS (1966-67-present)
CLEVELAND CAVALIERS (1970-71-present)
DALLAS MAVERICKS (1980-81-present)
DENVER NUGGETS (1976-77-present)
DETROIT PISTONS Fort Wayne Pistons (1948-57); Detroit Pistons (1957-present)
GOLDEN STATE WARRIORS Philadelphia Warriors (1946-62); San Francisco Warriors (1962-71); Golden State Warriors (1971-present)
HOUSTON ROCKETS San Diego Rockets (1967-71); Houston Rockets (1971-present)
INDIANA PACERS (1976-present)
LOS ANGELES CLIPPERS Buffalo Braves (1970-78); San Diego Clippers (1978-84);Los Angeles Clippers (1984-present)
LOS ANGELES LAKERS Minneapolis Lakers (1948-60); Los Angeles Lakers (1960-present)
MEMPHIS GRIZZLIES Vancouver Grizzlies (1995-2001); Memphis Grizzlies (2001-present)
MIAMI HEAT (1988-present)
NEW JERSEY NETS New York Nets (1976-77); New Jersey Nets (1977-present)
NEW ORLEANS/OKLAHOMA CITY HORNETS Charlotte Hornets (1988-2002); New Orleans Hornets (2002-2005), New Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets (2005-present)
ORLANDO MAGIC (1989-present)
PHILADELPHIA 76ERS Syracuse Nationals (1949-63); Philadelphia 76ers (1963-present)
PHOENIX SUNS (1968-present)
SACRAMENTO KINGS Rochester Royals (1948-57); Cincinnati Royals (1957-72); Kansas City-Omaha Kings (1972-75); Kansas City Kings (1975-85); Sacramento Kings (1985-present)
SAN ANTONIO SPURS (1976-present)
TORONTO RAPTORS (1995-present)
UTAH JAZZ New Orleans Jazz (1974-79); Utah Jazz (1979-present)
WASHINGTON WIZARDS Chicago Packers (1961-62); Chicago Zephyrs (1962-63); Baltimore Bullets (1963-73); Capital Bullets (1973-74); Washington Bullets (1974-98); Washington Wizards (1998-present)