Four Picks, Forty Seasons

When the 2011 NBA Draft wraps up in the wee hours of June 23, Cleveland will welcome four new picks into the Wine and Gold’s fold.

Due to some craft and aggressive moves – not to mention a little luck – the Cavaliers have four selections in this year’s Draft – No. 1, No. 4, No. 32 and No. 54 overall. The top two choices will garner all the headlines, but Cleveland’s two second-rounders might one day be this Draft’s diamonds in the rough.

For reference sake, assembled a list of players who have been taken at those four positions in the forty-plus years of the Cavaliers’ existence. Everyone remembers the top picks and most of the No. 4’s are recognizable. Some solid contributors have been taken No. 32. But at No. 54, for every Sam Mitchell, there’s two Aurelijius Zukauskases.

Of course, quality NBA players have been drafted low – or undrafted altogether – and enjoyed success at the pro level. (The Cavaliers can attest to that after discovering Manny Harris and Samardo Samuels.)

That being said, here are some of the selections that have been made over the years …

No. 1
No. 4
No. 32
No. 54
1970 Bob Lanier
Dave Cowens
Ken Warzynski
Bill Stricker
1971 Austin Carr*
Ken Durrett
Howard Porter
Bobby Fields
1972 LaRue Martin
Corky Calhoun
Bob Morse
Wil Robinson
1973 Doug Collins
Mike Green
Caldwell Jones
Doug Little
1974 Bill Walton
John Shumate
Jesse Dark
Greg McDougald
1975 David Thompson
Alvan Adams
John Laskowski
Bayard Forest
1976 John Lucas
Leon Douglas
Mo Howard*
Clarence Ramsey
1977 Kent Benson
Greg Ballard
Toby Knight
Lloyd McMillan
1978 Mychal Thompson
Micheal Ray Richardson
John Rudd
Steve Grant
1979 Magic Johnson
Greg Kelser
Tony Zeno
Lynbert Johnson
1980 Joe Barry Carroll
Kelvin Ransey
David Lawrence
Ron Perry
1981 Mark Aguirre
Al Wood
Mike Oliver
Jim Smith
1982 James Worthy
Bill Garnett
Richard Anderson
Willie Jones
1983 Ralph Sampson
Byron Scott
Michael Britt
Robert Hanson
1984 Hakeem Olajuwon
Sam Perkins
Eric Turner
Roosevelt Chapman
1985 Patrick Ewing
Xavier McDaniel
Nick Vanos
Sam Mitchell
1986 Brad Daugherty*
Chuck Person
Cedric Henderson
Ken Gattison
1987 David Robinson
Reggie Williams
Bob McCann
Tommy Amaker
1988 Danny Manning
Chris Morris
Charles Shackleford
Jorge Gonzales
1989 Pervis Ellison
Glen Rice
Stanley Brundy
Toney Mack
1990 Derrick Coleman
Dennis Scott
Brian Oliver
Sean Higgins
1991 Larry Johnson
Dikembe Mutombo
Chad Gallagher
Marcus Kennedy
1992 Shaquille O'Neal
Jimmy Jackson
Brent Price
Brett Roberts
1993 Chris Webber
Jamal Mashburn
Alphonso Ford
Byron Wilson
1994 Glenn Robinson
Donyell Marshall
Jim McIlvaine
Zelko Rebraca
1995 Joe Smith
Rasheed Wallace
Terrence Rencher
Aurejulius Zukauskus
1996 Allen Iverson
Stephon Marbury
Ryan Minor
Shandon Anderson
1997 Tim Duncan
Antonio Daniels
James Cotton
Mark Blount
1998 Michael Olowokandi
Antawn Jamison
Rashard Lewis
Tremaine Fowlkes
1999 Elton Brand
Lamar Odom
Michael Ruffin
Melvin Levett
2000 Kenyon Martin
Marcus Fizer
A.J. Guyton
Corey Hightower
2001 Kwame Brown
Eddy Curry
Willie Solomon
Maurice Jeffers
2002 Yao Ming
Drew Gooden
Vincent Yarbrough
Mladen Sekulavic
2003 LeBron James*
Chris Bosh
Luke Walton
Nedzad Sinanovic
2004 Dwight Howard
Shaun Livingston
Peter John Ramos
Rickey Paulding
2005 Andrew Bogut
Chris Paul
Daniel Ewing
Dijon Thompson
2006 Andrea Bargnani
Tyrus Thomas
Steve Novak
Hassan Adams
2007 Greg Oden
Mike Conley
Gabe Pruitt
Brad Newly
2008 Derrick Rose
Russell Westbrook
Walter Sharpe
Maarty Leunen
2009 Blake Griffin
Tyreke Evans
Jermaine Taylor
Robert Vaden
2010 John Wall
Wesley Johnson
Dexter Pittman
Willie Warren

* = denotes Cavaliers selection