Go To:
  • ALT+A Toggle Accessibility Menu
  • ALT+H Home
  • ALT+1 Navigation
  • ALT+2 Main Content
  • ALT+3 Footer

Rose moves into second place amongst guards in the East

Bulls guard Derrick Rose surpasses Rajon Rondo after fourth returns announced; Rose All-Star campaign signs will be placed on every seat at the United Center for Saturday’s game

>> Vote now for Rose, Boozer, Noah and Deng at Bulls.com/votebulls

January 13, 2011 – The NBA released the fourth returns of the 2011 NBA All-Star voting today and Chicago Bulls’ Derrick Rose surpassed Boston’s Rajon Rondo and ranks second among guards in the East (1,225,575). Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers and Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder top the Western Conference, while Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic and LeBron James of the Miami Heat lead the Eastern Conference.

To help elect Rose as the Bulls’ first All-Star starter since Michael Jordan in 1998, the Bulls and Adidas will be passing out Rose All-Star campaign placards to all 22,000 plus expected fans at Saturday’s home game against the Miami Heat. The get-out-the-vote signs will be placed on every seat at the United Center that evening. Additionally, red roses will be distributed to all Courtside seats to promote All-Star voting.

Fans can vote daily and often for their favorite Bulls players like Rose at Bulls.com/votebulls, in arena, through their mobile phones by texting the player's last name (ROSE, NOAH, DENG, or BOOZER) to 6-9-6-2-2 ("MYNBA") or by visiting m.nba.com on any wireless carrier.

Paper balloting at NBA arenas will continue through Jan. 17, while wireless and SMS balloting, and voting at Bulls.com/votebulls will conclude Jan. 23. Starters will be announced live on TNT on Jan. 27.

The 2011 NBA All-Star Game will be played at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 20, 2011.

Howard, the leading vote-getter in the Eastern Conference with 1,537,619 votes, paces centers in the East, followed by the Boston Celtics’ Shaquille O’Neal (639,661). James, a two-time All-Star MVP (2006, 2008), leads all Eastern Conference forwards with 1,518,807 votes, followed by the New York Knicks’ Amar’e Stoudemire (1,143,391). The Heat’s Dwyane Wade, last year’s All- Star Game MVP, paces all guards with 1,499,768 votes; the Chicago Bulls’ Derrick Rose is second among guards in the East (1,225,575). Stoudemire passed Boston’s Kevin Garnett (1,049,544) since the third balloting update was announced Jan. 6, while Rose surpassed the Celtics’ Rajon Rondo (1,171,311).

In the Western Conference, Bryant, a three-time All-Star MVP, who garnered the honor in 2002, 2007 and 2009, is followed at guard by the New Orleans Hornets’ Chris Paul (949,049). Durant, a member of last year’s All-NBA First Team, paces forwards in the West (1,270,729), with the Denver Nuggets’ Carmelo Anthony (945,720) second. The Houston Rockets’ Yao Ming (928,928) is the leading vote-getter among Western Conference centers, with the Lakers’ Andrew Bynum (660,576) placing second.

The leaders of both the Eastern and Western Conference players for the fourth returns of the 2011 NBA All-Star voting program are as follows:

Eastern Conference


1. Dwyane Wade (Mia) 1,499,768
2. Derrick Rose (Chi) 1,225,575
3. Rajon Rondo (Bos) 1,171,311
4. Ray Allen (Bos) 630,588
5. John Wall (Was) 260,893
6. Brandon Jennings (Mil) 254,614
7. Raymond Felton (NYK) 246,208
8. Gilbert Arenas (Orl) 240,586
9. Jamal Crawford (Atl) 163,971
10. Darren Collison (Ind) 156,230


1. LeBron James (Mia) 1,518,807
2. Amar'e Stoudemire (NYK) 1,143,391
3. Kevin Garnett (Bos) 1,049,544
4. Paul Pierce (Bos) 578,473
5. Chris Bosh (Mia) 427,551
6. Carlos Boozer (Chi) 320,661
7. Josh Smith (Atl) 280,158
8. Danilo Gallinari (NYK) 259,619
9. Danny Granger (Ind) 201,653
10. Luol Deng (Chi) 191,312


1. Dwight Howard (Orl) 1,537,619
2. Shaquille O'Neal (Bos) 639,661
3. Joakim Noah (Chi) 291,107
4. Andrew Bogut (Mil) 245,253
5. Al Horford (Atl) 193,449
6. Roy Hibbert (Ind) 183,092
7. Andrea Bargnani (Tor) 162,364
8. Brook Lopez (NJ) 125,022
9. JaVale McGee (Was) 106,710
10. Ben Wallace (Det) 79,017

Western Conference


1. Kobe Bryant (LAL) 1,757,216
2. Chris Paul (NOH) 949,049
3. Manu Ginobili (SA) 593,718
4. Steve Nash (Pho) 522,215
5. Deron Williams (Utah) 487,887
6. Russell Westbrook (OKC) 463,250
7. Tony Parker (SA) 355,993
8. Jason Kidd (Dal) 303,164
9. Vince Carter (Pho) 277,430
10. Kevin Martin (Hou) 266,037


1. Kevin Durant (OKC) 1,270,729
2. Carmelo Anthony (Den) 945,720
3. Pau Gasol (LAL) 851,456
4. Blake Griffin (LAC) 702,784
5. Tim Duncan (SA) 663,487
6. Dirk Nowitzki (Dal) 615,243
7. Lamar Odom (LAL) 364,950
8. Luis Scola (Hou) 347,986
9. Kevin Love (Min) 301,529
10. Caron Butler (Dal) 205,146


1. Yao Ming (Hou) 928,928
2. Andrew Bynum (LAL) 660,576
3. Nene (Den) 389,263
4. Marc Gasol 352,136
5. Emeka Okafor (NOH) 317,677
6. Brendan Haywood (Dal) 276,777
7. Marcus Camby (Por) 201,133
8. Chris Kaman (LAC) 165,684
9. Andris Biedrins (GS) 126,567
10. DeMarcus Cousins (Sac) 110,230

What do you think? Leave a comment below: