John Hammond Named Executive of the Year

NEW YORK, April 24, 2010

Milwaukee Bucks General Manager John Hammond has been named the recipient of the 2009-10 NBA Executive of the Year award, the NBA announced today.

Milwaukee totaled 46 wins in 2009-10, a 12-game improvement from last season, and earned the franchise's first playoff berth since 2005-06. Hammond's decision to select Brandon Jennings with the 10th overall pick in the 2009 NBA Draft paid immediate dividends, as the guard earned a starting spot in training camp and went on to average 15.5 points during his rookie campaign.

Hammond tabbed Scott Skiles as Milwaukee's head coach when he took over, and Skiles' trademark commitment to defense has rubbed off. In two years, the Bucks have gone from allowing 103.9 ppg in 2007-08 (23rd) to 96.0 ppg in 2009-10 (seventh). Hammond drafted defensive-minded forward Luc Mbah a Moute (2008 Draft, 37th overall) and brought in veterans such as Carlos Delfino, John Salmons, Jerry Stackhouse and Kurt Thomas. This past summer, he also re-signed Ersan Ilyasova, who was originally drafted by the Bucks in 2005 and played one season for the team (2006-07) before returning to Europe for two seasons.

Hammond received 12 of a possible 30 votes from a panel of his fellow team executives throughout the NBA. Oklahoma City's Sam Presti finished second with nine votes and Cleveland's Danny Ferry finished third with two votes. Charlotte's Rod Higgins, Dallas' Mark Cuban, Memphis' Chris Wallace, New Orleans' Jeff Bower, Portland's Kevin Pritchard, Sacramento's Geoff Petrie and Utah's Kevin O'Connor each received one vote.

RELATED: Reasons Why
RELATED: The Architecture


1972-73 Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha
1973-74 Eddie Donovan, Buffalo
1974-75 Dick Vertlieb, Golden State
1975-76 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1976-77 Ray Patterson, Houston
1977-78 Angelo Drossos, San Antonio
1978-79 Bob Ferry, Washington
1979-80 Red Auerbach, Boston
1980-81 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1981-82 Bob Ferry, Washington
1982-83 Zollie Volchok, Seattle
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85 Vince Boryla, Denver
1985-86 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1986-87 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1987-88 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1988-89 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1989-90 Bob Bass, San Antonio
1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter, Portland
1991-92 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1992-93 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1993-94 Bob Whitsitt, Seattle
1994-95 Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1996-97 Bob Bass, Charlotte
1997-98 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1998-99 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
1999-00 John Gabriel, Orlando
2000-01 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
2001-02 Rod Thorn, New Jersey
2002-03 Joe Dumars, Detroit
2003-04 Jerry West, Memphis
2004-05 Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix
2005-06 Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-07 Bryan Colangelo, Toronto
2007-08 Danny Ainge, Boston
2008-09 Mark Warkentien, Denver
2009-10 John Hammond, Milwaukee