2nd Annual Bucks Media Appreciation Game
Team Green takes the title with an impressive 2-0 showing in June 21 event
by Truman Reed / special to Bucks.com

Team Green -- selected by Bucks Assistant GM Jeff Weltman and coached by Assistant Coach Jim Boylan -- took the title in the 2nd Annual Bucks Media Appreciation Game, winning both of their games against the Red and Gray teams. The event was held at the Bradley Center on June 21 and featured over 30 members of the media. (photos by Gary Dineen)
Print RSS Feeds FastBreak Tix

June 23, 2008

MILWAUKEE -- John Hammond was named general manager of the Milwaukee Bucks just 10 weeks ago, but he has already exhibited that he can successfully delegate authority.

Just one week after assuming his duties with the Bucks, Hammond appointed his former Detroit Pistons colleague, Jeff Weltman, to the position of assistant general manager.

On June 21, Weltman drafted the Green team, which won the second annual Milwaukee Bucks Media Tournament at the Bradley Center.

The Green team, coached by new Bucks assistant and former Marquette University star Jim Boylan with assistance from Mike Sergo, opened the round-robin tourney with a convincing 28-12 victory over the Grey team, picked by Billy McKinney, who was named the Bucks’ director of scouting June 10. Jason Staudt and assistant Dwayne Wilson coached the Grey squad.

Andrew Kimball of FSN Wisconsin, who was named the champions’ most valuable player, scored a game-high 10 points, hitting five of seven field-goal attempts, and stuffed his line in the box score with four rebounds, four steals and three assists. Jason Hunter of WISN TV (ABC 12) contributed six points, and Chris Francis of WDJT TV (CBS 58), Tom Kurtz of Time Warner Cable Sports and John Jagler of WTMJ Radio 620 each snared four rebounds for the Green.

The Greys got four points and five rebounds from Todd Rosiak of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and another four points from Ryan Nolan of WDJT TV (CBS 58).

The Green team clinched the title with a 26-14 victory over the Red team in the second game of the day. Francis poured in eight points, Kimball five and Drew Wagner of OnMilwaukee.com four for the champs, who got five rebounds from Jagler and two steals apiece from Kimball and Kurtz.

The remaining members of the championship Green team were Kyle Dlabay of WTMJ Radio 620, Jeff Sherman of OnMilwaukee.com, John Walsh of FSN Wisconsin and Doug Russell of WSSP Radio 1250.

Brent Valenti of FSN Wisconsin and WISN TV (ABC 12) colleagues Bob Brainerd and Andy Kendeigh scored four points apiece for the Red team. Brainerd’s sky hook from the right baseline provided the tourney’s Sportscenter moment.

The Reds, whose roster included the two most “grizzled veterans” in the tournament in Mark Hutchinson of Full Court Press and Brainerd, pulled out a 25-22 win over the Grey in the third game of the tripleheader to capture second place.

Kendeigh came up with nine points and five rebounds and was voted the Red team’s MVP. Teammate Xiaoji Xu of USA Sino News totaled six points, three rebounds and an assist to win the tourney’s hustle award.

Bill Peterson, who is back for his second season as the Bucks’ assistant coach-player development, upped his Media Game coaching record to 3-1 with the Red team’s victory, having coached the Green team to the title last summer. Player Personnel Director Dave Babcock drafted this year’s runner-up unit.

Steve Orlowski of WDJT TV (CBS 58) pumped in eight points and Rosiak six for the Grey squad, and they crashed the boards for four rebounds each. Tim Van Vooren of WITI TV (Fox 6) handed out a tournament-best five assists, and Nolan was chosen the Grey team’s MVP.

Hammond let his charges do the work, but he monitored all of the action from courtside. He gave the tournament rave reviews afterward and expressed his eagerness to see the tradition continue next year.


Tournament MVP: Andrew Kimball

Team MVPs: Andy Kendeigh, Ryan Nolan

Hustle Player of the Game: Xiaoji Xu

Birthday Award: Jeff Sherman


Green Team (2-0)

General Manager: Jeff Weltman
Head Coach: Jim Boylan
Assistant Coach: Mike Sergo

2 - Kyle Dlabay (WTMJ Radio)
3 - Andrew Kimball (FSN Wisconsin)
4 - Jeff Sherman (OnMilwaukee.com)
6 - Chris Francis (WDJT TV)
8 - John Walsh (FSN Wisconsin)
10 - Doug Russell (WSSP Radio)
12 - Jason Hunter (WISN TV)
13 - Tom Kurtz (Time Warner Cable)
14 - John Jagler (WTMJ Radio)
15 - Drew Wagner (OnMilwaukee.com)

Red Team (1-1)

General Manager: Dave Babcock
Head Coach: Bill Peterson

1 - Rahny Taylor (KISS FM)
2 - Mike Wickett (WSSP Radio)
4 - Tracy Neuman (WDJT TV)
6 - Andrew Grebe (ESPN Radio)
7 - Xiaoji Xu (USA Sino News)
9 - Brent Valenti (FSN Wisconsin)
12 - Andy Kendeigh (WISN TV)
13 - Bob Brainerd (WISN TV)
14 - Mark Hutchinson (Full Court Press)

Gray Team (0-2)

General Manager: Billy McKinney
Head Coach: Jason Staudt
Assistant Coach: Dwayne Wilson

1 - Jen Lada (WITI TV)
3 - Colin Fly (Associated Press)
4 - Emmett Prosser (Journal Sentinel)
6 - Lance Allan (WTMJ TV)
8 - Steve Orlowski (WDJT TV)
10 - Ryan Nolan (WDJT TV)
11 - Joe DiGiovanni (Associated Press)
13 - Todd Rosiak (Journal Sentinel)
14 - Tim Van Vooren (WITI TV)
15 - C.J. Knee (ESPN Radio)