A Summer of Sweeping Changes

Bucks roster gets dramatically different look

The offseason of 2013 may not go down as the most pivotal one in Milwaukee Bucks annals.

It will, however, be remembered for the most extensive overhaul in team history.

If the Bucks were to open the 2013-14 National Basketball Association season with their 15-man roster of Aug. 19, they would have just five holdovers (Larry Sanders, Ersan Ilyasova, John Henson, Ekpe Udoh and Ish Smith) from their 2012-13 team. And only 12 players can be active for the team’s Nov. 30 season opener at New York.

The 2012-13 Bucks posted a 38-44 record and earned the franchise’s first playoff berth since 2010 before being swept 4-0 in the first round by the eventual champion Miami Heat.

Since the playoff stint ended April 28, there has been a sweeping change in the coaching ranks. Scott Skiles completed his run of four-plus seasons as head coach and has moved on along with Jim Boylan, who served as Skiles’ lead assistant before succeeding him and going 22-38 over the final 50 games of last season; Joe Wolf, Sidney Moncrief, Bill Peterson, Anthony Goldwire and Chris Gilmartin.

Larry Drew was hired as the franchise’s 13th head coach May 31 and has since been joined by assistants Bob Bender, Nick Van Exel, Scott Williams and Josh Oppenheimer.

The following is a timeline of the changes announced by the Bucks since they bowed out of the playoffs:

Only four times in Milwaukee’s franchise history have just five players returned to the team from one season to the next.

Bob Dandridge, Jim Price, Jon McGlocklin, Gary Brokaw and Kevin Restani were the only Bucks retained from the 1974-75 campaign to the 1975-76 season, when the team climbed from fourth place in the Midwest Division to first place. Brian Winters, Elmore Smith, Dave Meyers and Junior Bridgeman all became valuable additions after being acquired on June 16, 1975 from the Los Angeles Lakers in exchange for Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Walt Wesley.

The next season in which the Bucks had only five holdovers from the previous season come back was 1996-97, when Vin Baker, Glenn Robinson, Sherman Douglas, Johnny Newman and Shawn Respert returned from the Central Division’s sixth-place team and saw the Bucks wind up sixth.

One year later, only Robinson, Ray Allen, Armen Gilliam, Elliot Perry and Andrew Lang returned, and the team wound up seventh in the Central Division for the second straight season.

The 2006-07 Bucks roster featured just five players who were with them the previous season: Michael Redd, Mo Williams, Andrew Bogut, Charlie Bell and Dan Gadzuric. In both 2005-06 and 2006-07, the Bucks finished fifth in the Central Division.

To the other extreme, only four times in Bucks history have 11 players returned from one season to the next:

1984-85 to 1985-86 – Terry Cummings, Sidney Moncrief, Paul Pressey, Craig Hodges, Alton Lister, Ricky Pierce, Paul Mokeski, Kevin Grevey, Charles Davis, Randy Breuer and Kenny Fields

1986-87 to 1987-88 -- Terry Cummings, Ricky Pierce, John Lucas, Paul Pressey, Jack Sikma, Sidney Moncrief, Craig Hodges, Randy Breuer, Jerry Reynolds, Dudley Bradley and Paul Mokeski

1988-89 to 1989-90 – Ricky Pierce, Jack Sikma, Larry Krystkowiak, Paul Pressey, Jay Humphries, Jeff Grayer, Fred Roberts, Randy Breuer, Tony Brown, Tito Horford and Mike Dunleavy

2000-01 to 2001-02 – Glenn Robinson, Ray Allen, Sam Cassell, Tim Thomas, Jason Caffey, Darvin Ham, Ervin Johnson, Mark Pope, Michael Redd, Rafer Alston and Joel Przybilla