What 2 Watch 4 - Trail Blazers Vs. Clippers



LaMarcus Aldridge vs. Blake Griffin

Here in Rip City, there has been a lot of talk lately about who can stake claim to the title of best power forward in the NBA. Maybe that’s because the Trail Blazers have a leading candidate. Well, so do the Clippers. Two of the game’s premier players at the position engage in a power struggle tonight when LaMarcus Aldridge and Blake Griffin meet for the ninth time in their careers. Those short but fruitful NBA careers have included a combined five All-Star appearances (three for Griffin, two for Aldridge). And like those seasons, 2013-14 has proven to be a successful campaign even if it’s barely one-third of the way over. Aldridge has already received NBA Western Conference Player of the Week honors three times, becoming the first player to win the award on three occasions in the span of four weeks since LeBron James did so in 2006. Griffin is one of three players to have recorded at least 11 consecutive double-doubles in this season’s early going. And both players are putting up the kinds of scoring and rebounding averages seen only among that category of players in which both have proven to be: best power forwards in the league. Four NBA players are averaging the elusive 20 points and 10 rebounds per game this year: Kevin Love, DeMarcus Cousins, Aldridge and Griffin.

LaMarcus Aldridge

• The only player to record 10-plus field goals in five straight games during the 2013-14 season (Dec. 9-17)
• Has recorded two of the three 30-point, 20-rebound games in the NBA this season (Nov. 23, Dec. 12)
• The first NBA player to win Player of the Week honors three times in the span of four weeks since LeBron James in 2006 (Nov. 25, Dec. 9, Dec. 16)

Blake Griffin

• One of three NBA players this season to record a double-double in at least 11 straight games (Nov. 11-Dec. 1)
• The only NBA player this year averaging at least 20 points and 10 rebounds while shooting 50% from the field
• The first NBA player to be named to the All-Star Team in each of his first three seasons since Yao Ming (2003-05)