Skip to main content

Main content

Print

NBA rules O'Neal block on Ellis 'a goaltend'

NBA rules O'Neal block on Ellis goaltending

Official release
POSTED: Apr 2, 2014 5:31 PM ET
UPDATED: Apr 2, 2014 6:32 PM ET

AD

— Rod Thorn, NBA President, Basketball Operations, issued the following statement today regarding a non-call during overtime of the Golden State Warriors' 122-120 win over the Dallas Mavericks on April 1, at American Airlines Center:

Block of the Night: Jermaine O'Neal

"Upon review at the league office, we have found that a shot taken by Dallas' Monta Ellis with 16.0 seconds remaining in overtime was on the way down when initially contacted and ruled a block by Golden State's Jermaine O'Neal, and should have been ruled a goaltend. The exact trajectory of the ball when touched was impossible to ascertain with the naked eye, and the play was not reviewable."

Trending