Skip to main content

Main content


Record 25 current and former NBA players medal at Olympics

POSTED: Aug 17, 2012 2:04 PM ET

Official release


— A record 25 current and former NBA players wore medals around their necks when the United States, Spain, and Russia stood on the medal stand at the 2012 Summer Olympics this past Sunday in London. The gold medal game alone featured 20 current and former players.

At the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, 24 current and former NBA players were on the medal stand and 16 current and former players won medals at the 2004 Games in Athens.

Twelve NBA teams were represented on the medal stand, with the Western Conference Finals champion Oklahoma City Thunder having the most with four players. Three players from the Minnesota Timberwolves collected medals as did two players each from the Denver Nuggets, Los Angeles Lakers, and New York Knicks. Seven NBA teams had one Olympic medalist.

When the tournament tipped off on Sunday, July 29, rosters featured a record 41 current NBA players from 21 different NBA teams. Eleven of the 12 national teams competing featured at least one current NBA player, with France as the international country with the most with six.

The following is a complete list of current and former NBA Players who won 2012 medals:

Russia Viktor Khryapa Former Player
Andrei Kirilenko Minnesota Timberwolves
Sergey Monya Former Player
Timofey Mozgov Denver Nuggets
Alexey Shved Minnesota Timberwolves
Spain Jose Calderon Toronto Raptors
Victor Claver Portland Trail Blazers
Rudy Fernandez Former Player
Marc Gasol Memphis Grizzlies
Pau Gasol Los Angeles Lakers
Serge Ibaka Oklahoma City Thunder
Juan Carlos Navarro Former Player
Sergio Rodriguez Former Player
USA Carmelo Anthony New York Knicks
Kobe Bryant Los Angeles Lakers
Tyson Chandler New York Knicks
Anthony Davis New Orleans Hornets
Kevin Durant Oklahoma City Thunder
James Harden Oklahoma City Thunder
Andre Iguodala Denver Nuggets
LeBron James Miami Heat
Kevin Love Minnesota Timberwolves
Chris Paul Los Angeles Clippers
Russell Westbrook Oklahoma City Thunder
Deron Williams Brooklyn Nets