Click here to Skip to main content

Indiana's Larry Bird named 2011-12 Executive of the Year

By Official release
Posted May 16 2012 1:35PM - Updated May 17 2012 7:42PM

NEW YORK -- Indiana Pacers President of Basketball Operations Larry Bird is the recipient of the 2011-12 NBA Executive of the Year award, the NBA announced Wednesday.

As President of Basketball Operations, Bird oversaw a Pacers team that went 42-24 (.636), earning the No. 3 seed in the Eastern Conference and finishing with the league's fifth-best record.

Bird set the tone for the 2011-12 season by naming Frank Vogel, who had served in an interim capacity for 46 games during the 2010-11 season, head coach on July 6, 2011. He added to an already strong nucleus by signing David West in December, and beefed up the Pacers' bench by trading for Lou Amundson and Leandro Barbosa. Indiana's draft picks under Bird's watch have included three key contributors on this year's team: Paul George (2010), Tyler Hansbrough (2009), and Roy Hibbert (2008).

A three-time MVP as a player (1984, 85, 86) with the Boston Celtics, the Indiana basketball legend won NBA Coach of the Year honors in 1997-98, his first season on the sidelines, after guiding the Pacers to a 58-24 mark. In three seasons as head coach, Bird led Indiana to a 147-67 record and its only Finals appearance in 2000. Bird is the only person to win all three awards -- MVP, Coach and Executive of the Year. Red Auerbach, Frank Layden and Pat Riley are the only people to earn both Coach of the Year and Executive of the Year honors.

Bird totaled 88 points and received 12 first-place votes from a panel of his fellow team executives throughout the NBA. The San Antonio Spurs' R.C. Buford finished second with 56 points (eight first-place votes) votes and the Los Angeles Clippers' Neil Olshey finished third with 55 points (six first-place votes). Executives were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

Below are the results of the voting for the 2011-12 NBA Executive of the Year. The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.

2011-12 NBA Executive of the Year Results
Executive, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Larry Bird, Indiana 12 8 4 88
R.C. Buford, San Antonio 8 4 4 56
Neil Olshey, L.A. Clippers 6 7 4 55
Gar Forman, Chicago 2 2 - 16
Kevin OConnor, Utah - 2 4 10
Glen Grunwald, New York - 2 2 8
Pat Riley, Miami 1 - 2 7
Sam Presti, Oklahoma City 1 - - 5
Chris Wallace, Memphis - 1 2 5
David Kahn, Minnesota - 1 1 4
Rod Thorn, Philadelphia - 1 - 3
Dell Demps, New Orleans - 1 - 3
Rick Sund, Atlanta - 1 - 3
Danny Ainge, Boston - - 1 1
John Hammond, Milwaukee - - 1 1
Lon Babby, Phoenix - - 1 1
Mitch Kupchak, L.A. Lakers - - 1 1
Otis Smith, Orlando - - 1 1
Masai Ujiri, Denver - - 1 1

Following is the all-time list of winners:

All-Time NBA Executive of the Year Winners
Year Executive, Team
1972-73 Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha
1973-74 Eddie Donovan, Buffalo
1974-75 Dick Vertlieb, Golden State
1975-76 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1976-77 Ray Patterson, Houston
1977-78 Angelo Drossos, San Antonio
1978-79 Bob Ferry, Washington
1979-80 Red Auerbach, Boston
1980-81 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1981-82 Bob Ferry, Washington
1982-83 Zollie Volchok, Seattle
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85 Vince Boryla, Denver
1985-86 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1986-87 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1987-88 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1988-89 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1989-90 Bob Bass, San Antonio
1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter, Portland
1991-92 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1992-93 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1993-94 Bob Whitsitt, Seattle
1994-95 Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1996-97 Bob Bass, Charlotte
1997-98 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1998-99 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
1999-00 John Gabriel, Orlando
2000-01 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
2001-02 Rod Thorn, New Jersey
2002-03 Joe Dumars, Detroit
2003-04 Jerry West, Memphis
2004-05 Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix
2005-06 Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-07 Bryan Colangelo, Toronto
2007-08 Danny Ainge, Boston
2008-09 Mark Warkentien, Denver
2009-10 John Hammond, Milwaukee
2010-11 Gar Forman, Chicago; Pat Riley, Miami
2011-12 Larry Bird, Indiana
photoMedia Day: Cleveland Cavaliers
Check out the highlights from the Cavaliers' media day and the NBA TV crew debate whether Cleveland will repeat.
photoMedia Day: Golden State Warriors
Kevin Durant and Stephen Curry talk about the upcoming season as the Warriors look to bounce back after a disappointing Finals loss.
photoIs Chris Bosh's Career Over?
The NBA TV panel discuss if Chris Bosh's career is over after failing a physical due to continued blood clotting.
photoMedia Day: Wade's Impact on Bulls
Dwyane Wade, Jimmy Butler and Rajon Rondo talk about the new-look Bulls and the upcoming season.
photoMedia Day: New Look Knicks a Playoff Team?
The NBA TV panel discuss if the new-look Knicks are a playoff team.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.