Click here to Skip to main content
Kyrie Irving averaged 18.5 ppg and 5.4 apg in his rookie season.
NBAE via Getty Images

Cavaliers' Kyrie Irving named Kia Rookie of the Year

By Official release
Posted May 15 2012 11:12AM

NEW YORK -- Kyrie Irving is the recipient of the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as the 2011-12 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year, the NBA announced today. Irving totaled 592 points and received 117 first-place votes from a panel of 120 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

Minnesota's Ricky Rubio finished second with 170 points and Denver's Kenneth Faried finished third with 129 points (one first-place vote). Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

Among first-year players, Irving ranked first in scoring (18.5 ppg), field goal percentage (.469) and free throw percentage (.872), while placing second in assists (5.4 apg) and three-point field goal percentage (.399). Among all players, Irving ranked tied for fourth in fourth-quarter scoring (6.4 ppg) while shooting .518 from the field, .410 from beyond the arc and .868 from the charity stripe.

The top selection in the 2011 NBA Draft, Irving joins Oscar Robertson, Magic Johnson, Allen Iverson and, LeBron James as the only No. 1 overall draft picks to average at least 18.0 points and 5.0 assists. In addition, he is one of only six rookies in league history to average at least 18.0 points, 5.0 assists, and 1.0 steal while shooting at least .450 from the field, joining Johnson, Jordan, Alvan Adams, Grant Hill, and Tyreke Evans.

Irving was a three-time winner of the NBA's Rookie of the Month Award, for games played in December/January, February and March. Irving was named MVP of the BVAA Rising Stars Challenge at NBA All-Star 2012 by scoring 34 points, including going 8-for-8 from beyond the three-point line, and dishing a game-high nine assists.

As part of its support of the Rookie of the Year Award, Kia Motors America will donate a new Kia Sorento CUV to the New Jersey Roadrunners, Kyrie Irving's former AAU program. Kia Motors will present a brand new Sorento to the charity of choice of each of five 2011-12 year-end award winners as part of the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." Following this season, Kia Motors will have donated a total of 21 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA's prestigious year-end honors began with the 2007-2008 season.

For the first time, the 2011-12 Kia NBA Rookie of the Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." The series, currently in its fifth season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Most Improved Player, Defensive Player, Sixth Man, Most Valuable Player of the Year Awards. It also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month, which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards" visit

The Eddie Gottlieb Trophy is named in honor of Eddie Gottlieb, one of the NBA's founders who coached the Philadelphia Warriors to the NBA championship in 1946-47.

Below are the voting results for the 2011-12 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Award and the all-time list of winners. The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.

2011-12 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Award Results
Rookie, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Kyrie Irving, Cleveland 117 2 1 592
Ricky Rubio, Minnesota - 49 23 170
Kenneth Faried, Denver 1 30 34 129
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio 1 9 15 47
Iman Shumpert, New York 1 7 7 33
Klay Thompson, Golden State - 5 15 30
Isaiah Thomas, Sacramento - 6 10 28
Brandon Knight, Detroit - 6 3 21
Chandler Parsons, Houston - 3 5 14
MarShon Brooks, New Jersey - 1 1 4
Kemba Walker, Charlotte - - 3 3
Josh Selby, Memphis - - 1 1

* * *

All-Time Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Winners

Year Player(s) Team
2011-12 Kyrie Irving Cleveland Cavaliers
2010-11 Blake Griffin Los Angeles Clippers
2009-10 Tyreke Evans Sacramento Kings
2008-09 Derrick Rose Chicago Bulls
2007-08 Kevin Durant Seattle SuperSonics
2006-07 Brandon Roy Portland Trail Blazers
2005-06 Chris Paul New Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets
2004-05 Emeka Okafor Charlotte Bobcats
2003-04 LeBron James Cleveland Cavaliers
2002-03 Amar'e Stoudemire Phoenix Suns
2001-02 Pau Gasol Memphis Grizzlies
2000-01 Mike Miller Orlando Magic
1999-00 Steve Francis, Elton Brand Houston Rockets, Chicago Bulls
1998-99 Vince Carter Toronto Raptors
1997-98 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
1996-97 Allen Iverson Philadelphia 76ers
1995-96 Damon Stoudamire Toronto Raptors
1994-95 Jason Kidd, Grant Hill Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons
1993-94 Chris Webber Golden State Warriors
1992-93 Shaquille O'Neal Orlando Magic
1991-92 Larry Johnson Charlotte Hornets
1990-91 Derrick Coleman New Jersey Nets
1989-90 David Robinson San Antonio Spurs
1988-89 Mitch Richmond Golden State Warriors
1987-88 Mark Jackson New York Knicks
1986-87 Chuck Person Indiana Pacers
1985-86 Patrick Ewing New York Knicks
1984-85 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1983-84 Ralph Sampson Houston Rockets
1982-83 Terry Cummings San Diego Clippers
1981-82 Buck Williams New Jersey Nets
1980-81 Darrell Griffith Utah Jazz
1979-80 Larry Bird Boston Celtics
1978-79 Phil Ford Kansas City Kings
1977-78 Walter Davis Phoenix Suns
1976-77 Adrian Dantley Buffalo Braves
1975-76 Alvan Adams Phoenix Suns
1974-75 Jamaal Wilkes Golden State Warriors
1973-74 Ernie DiGregorio Buffalo Braves
1972-73 Bob McAdoo Buffalo Braves
1971-72 Sidney Wicks Portland Trail Blazers
1970-71 Geoff Petrie, Dave Cowens Portland Trail Blazers, Boston Celtics
1969-70 Lew Alcindor Milwaukee Bucks
1968-69 Wes Unseld Baltimore Bullets
1967-68 Earl Monroe Baltimore Bullets
1966-67 Dave Bing Detroit Pistons
1965-66 Rick Barry San Francisco Warriors
1964-65 Willis Reed New York Knicks
1963-64 Jerry Lucas Cincinnati Royals
1962-63 Terry Dischinger Chicago Zephyrs
1961-62 Walt Bellamy Chicago Packers
1960-61 Oscar Robertson Cincinnati Royals
1959-60 Wilt Chamberlain Philadelphia Warriors
1958-59 Elgin Baylor Minneapolis Lakers
1957-58 Woody Sauldsberry Philadelphia Warriors
1956-57 Tom Heinsohn Boston Celtics
1955-56 Maurice Stokes Rochester Royals
1954-55 Bob Pettit Milwaukee Hawks
1953-54 Ray Felix Baltimore Bullets
1952-53 Don Meineke Fort Wayne Pistons
photoMedia Day: Cleveland Cavaliers
Check out the highlights from the Cavaliers' media day and the NBA TV crew debate whether Cleveland will repeat.
photoMedia Day: Golden State Warriors
Kevin Durant and Stephen Curry talk about the upcoming season as the Warriors look to bounce back after a disappointing Finals loss.
photoIs Chris Bosh's Career Over?
The NBA TV panel discuss if Chris Bosh's career is over after failing a physical due to continued blood clotting.
photoMedia Day: Wade's Impact on Bulls
Dwyane Wade, Jimmy Butler and Rajon Rondo talk about the new-look Bulls and the upcoming season.
photoMedia Day: New Look Knicks a Playoff Team?
The NBA TV panel discuss if the new-look Knicks are a playoff team.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.