Click here to Skip to main content

Kidd honored with 2011-12 NBA Sportsmanship Award

By Official release
Posted May 3 2012 11:02AM

NEW YORK -- Jason Kidd of the Dallas Mavericks is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2011-12 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

Kidd (Southwest) was one of six divisional winners, which included Cleveland's Antawn Jamison (Central), the Los Angeles Clippers' Chris Paul (Pacific), Miami's Shane Battier (Southeast), Minnesota's Luke Ridnour (Northwest), and New York's Jeremy Lin (Atlantic).

Kidd received 93 first-place votes (2,501 total points) of a possible 334. The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Kidd to The Jason Kidd Foundation, which is dedicated to improving education among the youth, by ensuring that kids of all ages have the tools needed through mentoring, tutoring and technology programs to succeed in life.

For the eighth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players Greg Anthony, John Crotty, Antonio Davis, Eddie Johnson and Kenny Smith selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees.

The NBA will make a $5,000 donation to each of the divisional winner's charities of choice: the Battier Take Charge Foundation on behalf of Battier; KaBOOM! on behalf of Jamison; the Jeremy Lin Foundation on behalf of Lin; the CP3 Foundation on behalf of Paul; and the Blaine (Wash.) Boys and Girls Club on behalf of Ridnour.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.

Following is a list of this year's voting totals for 2011-12 the NBA Sportsmanship Award. The balloting was tabulated by independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.

Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Points
Jason Kidd, Dallas 93 74 69 44 31 16 2501
Shane Battier, Miami 69 67 77 46 40 22 2273
Antawn Jamison, Cleveland 35 69 57 67 59 37 1954
Luke Ridnour, Minnesota 58 38 53 75 51 41 1920
Jeremy Lin, New York 45 35 39 52 67 80 1624
Chris Paul, L.A. Clippers 34 45 29 32 65 115 1452

Following is the all-time list of winners:

Year Player
1995-96 Joe Dumars
1996-97 Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98 Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99 Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-00 Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-01 David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-02 Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-03 Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-04 P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2004-05 Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-06 Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2006-07 Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-08 Grant Hill, Phoenix
2008-09 Chauncey Billups, Denver
2009-10 Grant Hill, Phoenix
2010-11 Stephen Curry, Golden State
2011-12 Jason Kidd, Dallas
photoShaq Week Invades NBA TV
NBA TV will premiere Shaq Week featuring a full week of programming starring Shaquille O'Neal, beginning Monday, August 29.
photoGameTime: At The Buzzer
Rick Kamla and Dennis Scott discuss Carmelo Anthony going to the corner store in a bathrobe emblazoned with his name.
photoGameTime: Buy Or Sell
Dennis Scott and Rick Kamla discuss off-season developments, deciding whether or not to buy or sell.
photoGameTime: Isiah Thomas
NBA TV's Isiah Thomas calls in to GameTime to discuss the tragedy that took place in Chicago this week.
photoGameTime: Shaq Week
Ahead of Shaq's induction into the Basketball Hall of Fame, NBA TV will run an interview between Shaq and Ernie Johnson discussing Shaq's Hall of Fame career.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.