Click here to Skip to main content

Scott Howard-Cooper

Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond, Chris Mullin
Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond and 2011 Hall of Famer Chris Mullin (left to right) comprised run TMC.
NBA Photos/NBAE via Getty Images

Krause, Divac, Warriors duo top list of 2012 Hall nominees

Posted Nov 11 2011 3:35PM

Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond, Jerry Krause and Vlade Divac top the list of new nominees with league ties for the Hall of Fame, learned Friday. They are among a field that joins returning headliner Reggie Miller as candidates for the Class of 2012 in Springfield, Mass.

The group is, in many ways, a continuation of the '11 class. Chris Mullin was inducted in August, and now friends and Run TMC namemates Richmond and Hardaway are hoping to follow. The strength of the Divac nomination is his international impact and contribution to the worldwide growth of the game, much the same way Arvydas Sabonis was elected, with his NBA contributions secondary on the resume.

Miller is hoping to replicate the path of Dennis Rodman by going from not making it out of the first round of voting in the first year of eligibility all the way to being elected in the second. And former personnel boss Krause and ex-assistant coach John Bach, along with retired coach Dick Motta among the returning nominees, could make it a Bulls-heavy class for the second year in a row.

The Warriors are also well represented, with Richmond, Hardaway, Bach, Don Nelson, Mark Jackson, Al Attles, Sarunas Marciulionas, Bernard King and Ralph Sampson on the ballot. The Pacers have prominent ties with Miller, Jackson, Donnie Walsh and three leading candidates via the ABA committee; Slick Leonard, Mel Daniels and George McGinnis.

The most-recognizable names, by committee:

North American

Attles, Bach, Dick Bavetta, Maurice Cheeks, Lefty Driesell, Bill Fitch, Cotton Fitzsimmons, Curt Gowdy (contributor category), Hardaway, Spencer Haywood, former NCAA executive Tom Jernstedt (contributor), Jackson, King, Krause, Miller, Motta, Nelson, Billy Packer (contributor), Rick Pitino, Paul Silas (as a player), George Raveling (contributor), Richmond, Sampson, Eddie Sutton, Rudy Tomjanovich, Gene Shue, Jim Valvano (contributor), Walsh (contributor), Gary Williams, Paul Westphal (as a player), Jamaal Wilkes.


Jennifer Azzi, Rebecca lobo (contributor category), Katrina McClain, Teresa Weatherspoon.


Ron Boone, Mack Calvin, Louie Dampier, Daniels, Leonard, McGinnis. (Nominees in this category do not face the initial screening. The ABA committee, along with those in the Early African-American Pioneers of the Game committee, have a direct-election ballot for one candidate per year.)

The close of nominations is the first official step in the process. The Hall annually faces criticism for the secret ballot that leads to the highest individual honor for all levels of the game, not just the NBA. A candidate must receive at least seven of nine votes from a screening committee -- five of seven for the women's game -- during voting in late-January or early-February to become a finalist, an outcome scheduled to be announced Feb. 24, 2012, as part of All-Star weekend in Orlando, Fla. Anyone who makes that cut will be judged by a separate committee in late-February or early-March and need at least 18 of 24 votes to be inducted. The winners will be announced at the Final Four in New Orleans.

The Class of 2011 was Mullin, Rodman, Artis Gilmore, Tara VanDerveer, Teresa Edwards, Sabonis, college coach Herb Magee, Tom (Satch) Sanders, Tex Winter and Reece (Goose) Tatum.

Scott Howard-Cooper has covered the NBA since 1988. You can e-mail him here and follow him on twitter.

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA, its clubs or Turner Broadcasting.


Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.