Click here to Skip to main content
Dwight Howard, the Kia Defensive Player of the Year winner, led the league with 66 double-doubles.
Fernando Medina/NBAE via Getty Images

Howard gets third straight Kia Defensive Player of Year nod

By Official Release
Posted Apr 18 2011 2:55PM

NEW YORK -- Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic is the recipient of the 2010-11 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, the NBA announced today. Howard becomes the first player to earn the honor three straight seasons; only Dikembe Mutombo and Ben Wallace, with four each, have won the award more times.

The 6-foot-11 center led the league with 66 double-doubles, including six 20-point/20-rebound efforts, while ranking second in rebounds (14.1 rpg) and fourth in blocks (2.38 bpg). With Howard manning the middle, the Magic allowed 93.5 ppg, ranking fourth in that category. The seventh-year veteran reached several historical milestones this season, including:

Video On March 1 vs. New York, Howard, at 25 years and 83 days old, became the youngest player in NBA history to amass 7,000 career rebounds, passing Wilt Chamberlain, who was 26 years and 128 days old when he passed the 7,000-rebound plateau.

• He recorded at least 1,000 rebounds and 100 blocked shots for the sixth straight year; since blocked shots were officially tracked in 1973-74, only Moses Malone has done it more (seven seasons).

• He became one of only five players in NBA history since blocked shots became an official statistic in 1973-74 to record at least 6,000 rebounds and 1,000 blocked shots in his first 500 games.

As part of its support of the Defensive Player of the Year Award, Kia Motors America will donate a new Kia Sorento CUV to BETA Center, a private, nonprofit organization with 32 years of experience helping families in the greater Orlando area. Kia Motors will present a brand new Sorento to the charity of choice of each of four 2010-11 season-end award winners as part of the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." Following this season, Kia Motors will have donated a total of 16 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA's prestigious year-end honors began with the 2007-2008 season.

Howard received 585 points, including 114 first-place votes, from a panel of 120 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Boston's Kevin Garnett finished second with 77 points and Dallas' Tyson Chandler finished third with 70 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

The 2010-11 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." The series, currently in its fourth season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Most Improved Player, Sixth Man and Most Valuable Player of the Year Awards. It also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards" visit

Attached are the 2010-11 results and the league's all-time Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award winners:

2010-11 NBA Defensive Player of the Year presented by Kia Motors | Results
Player Team First-place (5 PTS) Second-place (3 PTS) Third-place (1 PT) Total Points
Dwight Howard Magic 114 5 -- 585
Kevin Garnett Celtics 1 20 12 77
Tyson Chandler Mavericks -- 20 10 70
Tony Allen Grizzlies -- 12 17 53
Rajon Rondo Celtics -- 14 3 45
Andrew Bogut Bucks -- 6 14 32
Grant Hill Suns 1 7 4 30
Andre Iguodala Sixers -- 5 14 29
LeBron James Heat -- 7 4 25
Luol Deng Bulls -- 5 9 24
Kobe Bryant Lakers -- 5 3 18
Chuck Hayes Rockets 2 -- 3 13
Chris Paul Hornets -- 3 4 13
Serge Ibaka Thunder -- 2 6 12
Joakim Noah Bulls 1 2 -- 11
Dwyane Wade Heat -- 2 2 8
Tim Duncan Spurs -- 2 1 7
Ron Artest Lakers -- 1 3 6
JaVale McGee Wizards -- 1 2 5
Keith Bogans Bulls 1 -- -- 5
Thabo Sefolosha Thunder -- -- 4 4
Andrew Bynum Lakers -- 1 -- 3
Kenyon Martin Nuggets -- -- 2 2
Gerald Wallace Blazers -- -- 2 2
Josh Smith Hawks -- -- 1 1

Howard joins the complete list of past Defensive Player of the Year Award winners shown below:

All-Time NBA Defensive Player of the Year Winners
Season Winner, Team
1982-83 Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1983-84 Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1984-85 Mark Eaton, Utah
1985-86 Alvin Robertson, San Antonio
1986-87 Michael Cooper, L.A. Lakers
1987-88 Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988-89 Mark Eaton, Utah
1989-90 Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1990-91 Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1991-92 David Robinson, San Antonio
1992-93 Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1993-94 Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1994-95 Dikembe Mutombo, Denver
1995-96 Gary Payton, Seattle
1996-97 Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1997-98 Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1998-99 Alonzo Mourning, Miami
1999-00 Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2000-01 Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2002-03 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2003-04 Ron Artest, Indiana
2004-05 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2005-06 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2006-07 Marcus Camby, Denver
2007-08 Kevin Garnett, Boston
2008-09 Dwight Howard, Orlando
2009-10 Dwight Howard, Orlando
2010-11 Dwight Howard, Orlando
photoUSA Men's Team Celebrate Their Gold Medal
Reflections from the Men's players on their accomplishments in Rio.
photoCurry's Top 10 Plays of 2015-16
Stephen Curry's Top 10 Plays of the 2015-16 Season.
photoTop 10 Plays from Each Position: 2015-16
Check out the Top 10 plays from Point Guards, Shooting Guards, Small Forwards, Power Forwards and Centers from this past season.
photoGameTime: Happy Birthday Kobe
GameTime celebrates the birthday of the 5-time NBA Champion, Kobe Bryant.
photoGameTime: LaChina Robinson
WNBA Insider LaChina Robinson joins GameTime to speak on the U.S. Women's National team capturing Gold in Rio, and the second half of the WNBA season.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.