Click here to Skip to main content

Divisional winners for Sportsmanship Award announced

By Official release
Posted Apr 1 2011 3:47PM

NEW YORK, April 1, 2011 -- Charlotte's D.J. Augustin, Chicago's Luol Deng, Golden State's Stephen Curry, New Jersey's Deron Williams, Portland's LaMarcus Aldridge and San Antonio's George Hill were selected by a four-member panel of former players as divisional winners for the 2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award, designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, is voted on by NBA players. The NBA will announce the winner after the regular season.

The 2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner will be presented with the Joe Dumars Trophy, named after the Hall of Famer and former Detroit Pistons great who played 14 seasons in the NBA and was the recipient of the inaugural NBA Sportsmanship Award in 1996. The six-time All-Star was selected in honor of his distinguished and dignified career and for symbolizing the tradition the NBA wants to recognize with this award.

Former NBA players Rolando Blackman, John Crotty, Mark Jackson and Eddie Johnson selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts.

Following is a list of the all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship award:

All-Time NBA Sportsmanship Award Winners
Year Player
Inaugural Joe Dumars (1996)
1996-1997 Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-1998 Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-1999 Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-2000 Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-2001 David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-2002 Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-2003 Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-2004 P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2004-2005 Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-2006 Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2006-2007 Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-2008 Grant Hill, Phoenix
2008-2009 Chauncey Billups, Denver
2009-2010 Grant Hill, Phoenix
photoNBA News and Notes
Get caught up on news and notes from around the Association.
photoFIBA World Cup Standings
Check out the FIBA World Cup standings from Group C and Group D.
photoPostgame: Team USA
James Harden, Kenneth Faried and Derrick Rose talk postgame after team USA locks up a spot in the quarter finals after defeating New Zealand.
photoFIBA: Day Four Wrap
See all the action and passion from day four of the 2014 FIBA World Cup.
photoPostgame: Coach K
USAB's Coach Mike Krzyzweski addresses the media following a winning performance over New Zealand.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.