Click here to Skip to main content
Brandon Jennings, JaVale McGee, Serge Ibaka and Blake Griffin will compete in the Sprite Slam Dunk Contest.

Griffin, Ibaka, Jennings and McGee set for Sprite Slam Dunk

By Official Release
Posted Jan 6 2011 8:11AM

NEW YORK -- There will be a new Sprite Slam Dunk champion crowned on Feb. 19, at STAPLES Center (8 p.m. ET on TNT) in Los Angeles as four first-time contestants vie for the title: the Los Angeles Clippers' Blake Griffin, the Milwaukee Bucks' Brandon Jennings, the Oklahoma City Thunder's Serge Ibaka and the Washington Wizards' JaVale McGee.

As part of the NBA and Sprite's continuing efforts to bring fans closer to the Sprite Slam Dunk, each of the four participants will be featured in a special online video series that will give fans an inside look at their preparations for the event. The series, "Sprite Slam Dunk: Countdown to the Contest," will feature each participant matched up with a dunk coach who will work with his respective player to create and practice some of the electrifying dunks that will take place during the event in Los Angeles.

Participant Team Pos. Ht. Wt.
Blake Griffin L.A. Clippers F 6-10 251
Brandon Jennings Milwaukee G 6-1 169
Serge Ibaka Oklahoma City F-C 6-10 235
JaVale McGee Washington C 7-0 252

Griffin will match up with TNT analyst and two-time Slam Dunk participant (1990, 1991) Kenny Smith; Jennings will practice with NBA Legend Darryl Dawkins; McGee will work with NBA TV/TNT analyst and five-time NBA All-Star Chris Webber; and Ibaka will prepare with Thunder teammate and 2009-10 NBA scoring champion Kevin Durant. Each episode also will feature a "dunk selection ceremony" where the participants will choose which dunks they want to keep and which they decide to send to "the bench." Fans will be able to keep up with the latest development in the series, which will tip off tomorrow and will run through the week of the event, by viewing the latest weekly episodes at

Fans will again have the opportunity to determine the winner of the Sprite Slam Dunk as part of the "They Dunk. You Decide" campaign, which debuted as part of the event in 2008.

The two dunkers with the highest first round scores will advance to the final round. The dunker with the lowest total score from the first round will compete first in the final round. Dunks then will alternate until each player has completed two. Time limit rules still apply. In the final round, fan voting polls will open via SMS TXT message and at The combined results from SMS TXT voting and will determine the champion.

The Sprite Slam Dunk is part of NBA All-Star 2011, which also includes the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam, NBA All-Star Saturday Night presented by State Farm featuring the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, Haier Shooting Stars and Taco Bell Skills Challenge; NBA All-Star Jam Session presented by adidas; and the 60th NBA All-Star Game.

Sprite, the world's leading lemon-lime soft drink, has been the official soft drink of the NBA since 1994 and the title partner of the All-Star Slam Dunk competition since 2003.


1984 -- Larry Nance, Phoenix
1985 -- Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1986 -- Spud Webb, Atlanta
1987 -- Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988 -- Michael Jordan, Chicago
1989 -- Kenny Walker, New York
1990 -- Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1991 -- Dee Brown, Boston
1992 -- Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix
1993 -- Harold Miner, Miami
1994 -- Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
1995 -- Harold Miner, Miami
1996 -- Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers
1997 -- Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
2000 -- Vince Carter, Toronto
2001 -- Desmond Mason, Seattle
2002 -- Jason Richardson, Golden State
2003 -- Jason Richardson, Golden State
2004 -- Fred Jones, Indiana
2005 -- Josh Smith, Atlanta
2006 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2007 -- Gerald Green, Boston
2008 -- Dwight Howard, Orlando
2009 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2010 -- Nate Robinson, New York

photoNBA Action: Rewriting History
Records were made to be broken and that's what happen in the 20113-14 NBA season.
photoNBA Action: Top 10 Plays of the Year
Countdown the top ten most electrifying plays of the 2013-14 NBA season.
photoNBA Action: KD Scores the Title
Kevin Durant is the first player to win four scoring titles in a 5-year period since Michael Jordan won 7 straight.
photoNets vs. Cavaliers
Tyler Zeller goes for 22 points and pulls down 11 rebounds in the Cavaliers 114-85 win over the Nets.
photoPlayoff Push: Miami Heat
25 years ago, Pat Riley trademarked a term that has come to define excellence in any sport: the ever-elusive "threepeat".

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.