Click here to Skip to main content

Hill first-ever three-time NBA Sportsmanship Award winner

By Official Release
Posted Apr 26 2010 2:17PM

NEW YORK -- Grant Hill of the Phoenix Suns is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2009-10 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

A 15-year veteran, Hill (Pacific) was one of six divisional winners, which included Atlanta's Al Horford (Southeast), Boston's Ray Allen (Atlantic), Cleveland's Antawn Jamison (Central), Denver's Chauncey Billups (Northwest) and Houston's Luis Scola (Southwest).

Past NBA Sportsmanship Award winners
1995-96: Joe Dumars, Pistons (Inaugural award) 1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cavs
1997-98: Avery Johnson, Spurs 1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Sonics
1999-2000: Eric Snow, Sixers 2000-01: David Robinson, Spurs
2001-02: Steve Smith, Spurs 2002-03: Ray Allen, Sonics
2003-04: P.J. Brown, Hornets 2004-05: Grant Hill, Magic
2005-06: Elton Brown, Clippers 2006-07: Luol Deng, Bulls
2007-08: Grant Hill, Suns 2008-09: Chauncey Billups, Nuggets
2009-10: Grant Hill, Suns

Hill received 96 first-place votes (2,485 total points) of a possible 315.

Hill becomes the first three-time winner in the award's history (2004-05, 2007-08, 2009-10).

For the sixth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players Mike Bantom, Mark Jackson, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and Eric Snow then selected the six divisional winners.

The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Hill to the WellCare Foundation.

The NBA will also make a $5,000 donation to each of the divisional winner's charities of choice: The Ferst Foundation on behalf of Horford; Ray of Hope Foundation on behalf of Allen; Hammer and Nails and Cleveland Police Athletic League on behalf of Jamison; Porter-Billups Leadership Academy on behalf of Billups; Manu Ginobili Foundation on behalf of Scola.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.

Player (Team) 1st-place votes 2nd-place votes 3rd-place votes 4th-place votes 5th-place votes 6th-place votes Points
Grant Hill (Suns) 96 88 47 45 22 17 2485
Chauncey Billups (Nuggets) 79 48 64 53 35 36 2155
Ray Allen (Celtics) 48 72 63 37 43 52 1983
Antawn Jamison (Cavs) 45 43 67 72 53 35 1905
Al Horford (Hawks) 13 37 49 68 90 58 1487
Luis Scola (Rockets) 34 27 25 40 72 117 1325
photoFree Agent Fever: Analyzing Sacramento
Steve Smith and Ron Thompson look at how new pieces will fit in Sacramento amidst tension between DeMarcus Cousins and George Karl.
photoFree Agent Fever: Dissecting Dallas
Steve Smith and Ron Thompson take a look at the new-look Mavericks after moves in free agency.
photoFree Agent Fever: Clipped
Steve Smith takes a look at how the Clippers will rebound after losing the rebounding and defense brought by DeAndre Jordan.
photoFree Agent Fever: DeAndre In Dallas
Jared Greenberg and Steve Smith speak on the Mavericks' signing of center DeAndre Jordan.
photoFree Agent Fever: Rondo In Sacramento
Jared Greenberg and Steve Smith report on the signing of Rajon Rondo in Sacramento.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.