Click here to Skip to main content

Brooks named 2009-10 NBA Coach of the Year

By Official release
Posted Apr 21 2010 7:07PM

NEW YORK, April 21, 2010 -- Oklahoma City's Scott Brooks is the recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2009-10 NBA Coach of the Year, the NBA announced today.

Brooks totaled 480 points, including 71 first-place votes, from a panel of 123 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

Coach, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Pts
Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City 71 39 8 480
Scott Skiles, Milwaukee 26 54 21 313
Nate McMillan, Portland 9 9 35 107
Jerry Sloan, Utah 10 9 21 98
Alvin Gentry, Phoenix 4 5 11 46
Larry Brown, Charlotte 1 2 12 23
George Karl, Denver 1 1 3 11
Rick Adelman, Houston - 2 1 7
Mike Woodson, Atlanta - 2 1 7
Lionel Hollins, Memphis - - 6 6
Stan Van Gundy, Orlando 1 - - 5
Mike Brown, Cleveland - - 2 2
Rick Carlisle, Dallas - - 1 1
Erik Spoelstra, Miami - - 1 1

In his first full season at the helm in Oklahoma City, Brooks guided the Thunder to a 50-32 (.610) season and the organization's first playoff berth since 2005. Brooks coached the Thunder -- the NBA's youngest team -- to an NBA-best 27-game turnaround following a 23-59 (.280) record in 2008-09.

Brooks was named NBA Coach of the Month for February after leading the Thunder to the NBA's best winning percentage (.818) with a 9-2 mark, including a 5-1 record on the road. Oklahoma City opened the month with seven consecutive wins, extending a winning streak that began in January to nine games, the Thunder's longest winning streak since the 2004-05 season.

Brooks, who had been named interim head coach on Nov. 22, 2008, was named head coach of the Thunder on April 15, 2009, prior to the team's final game of the season. Before his appointment as interim head coach, Brooks was an assistant coach with the team since the 2007-08 season.

Before joining the Thunder organization, Brooks served as an assistant coach for the Sacramento Kings (2006-07), after beginning his NBA coaching career under George Karl as an assistant coach for the Denver Nuggets (2003-06).

The Coach of the Year Award is named after legendary coach and Hall of Famer Red Auerbach who guided the Celtics to nine NBA Championships. In 1996, Auerbach was honored as one of the Top 10 Coaches in NBA History as the NBA celebrated its 50th anniversary.

Following are the balloting results for the 2009-10 NBA Coach of the Year award and the all-time list of winners.

1962-63 Harry Gallatin, St. Louis
1963-64 Alex Hannum, San Francisco
1964-65 Red Auerbach, Boston
1965-66 Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia
1966-67 Johnny Kerr, Chicago
1967-68 Richie Guerin, St. Louis
1968-69 Gene Shue, Baltimore
1969-70 Red Holzman, New York
1970-71 Dick Motta, Chicago
1971-72 Bill Sharman, Los Angeles
1972-73 Tom Heinsohn, Boston
1973-74 Ray Scott, Detroit
1974-75 Phil Johnson, Kansas City-Omaha
1975-76 Bill Fitch, Cleveland
1976-77 Tom Nissalke, Houston
1977-78 Hubie Brown, Atlanta
1978-79 Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City
1979-80 Bill Fitch, Boston
1980-81 Jack McKinney, Indiana
1981-82 Gene Shue, Washington
1982-83 Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85 Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1985-86 Mike Fratello, Atlanta
1986-87 Mike Schuler, Portland
1987-88 Doug Moe, Denver
1988-89 Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix
1989-90 Pat Riley, LA Lakers
1990-91 Don Chaney, Houston
1991-92 Don Nelson, Golden State
1992-93 Pat Riley, New York
1993-94 Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta
1994-95 Del Harris, Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96 Phil Jackson, Chicago
1996-97 Pat Riley, Miami
1997-98 Larry Bird, Indiana
1998-99 Mike Dunleavy, Portland
1999-00 Doc Rivers, Orlando
2000-01 Larry Brown, Philadelphia
2001-02 Rick Carlisle, Detroit
2002-03 Gregg Popovich, San Antonio
2003-04 Hubie Brown, Memphis
2004-05 Mike D'Antoni, Phoenix
2005-06 Avery Johnson, Dallas
2006-07 Sam Mitchell, Toronto
2007-08 Byron Scott, New Orleans
2008-09 Mike Brown, Cleveland
2009-10 Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City
photo2015-16 Nuggets Top 10 Plays
Check out the Denver Nuggets' Top 10 plays of the 2015-16 NBA season.
photoDurant Starts With a Bang
Immediately off the tip, Kevin Durant hits the three-pointer to start the game against China for Team USA.
photoGameTime: News And Notes
NBA TV recaps the Cavaliers' extension of Tyronn Lue's contract and the Blazers retaining guard C.J. McCollum.
photoGameTime: Stoudemire's Retirement
NBA TV's Rick Kamla reports that Amar'e Stoudemire will retire as a member of the New York Knicks.
photoGameTime: Athletes And Activism
NBA TV reports on Michael Jordan's statement regarding recent social issues and Carmelo Anthony's meeting with the community in Los Angeles and the police to help repair discrmination issues at large.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.