Click here to Skip to main content

Divisional winners named for 2009-10 Sportsmanship Award

By Official Release
Posted Apr 5 2010 4:19PM

NEW YORK, April 5, 2010 -- Atlanta's Al Horford, Boston's Ray Allen, Cleveland's Antawn Jamison, Denver's Chauncey Billups, Houston's Luis Scola and Phoenix's Grant Hill were selected by a five-member panel of former players as divisional winners for the 2009-10 NBA Sportsmanship Award.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award, designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, is voted on by NBA players. The NBA will announce the winner after the regular season.

The 2009-10 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner will be presented with the Joe Dumars Trophy, named after the Hall of Famer and former Detroit Pistons great who played 14 seasons in the NBA and was the recipient of the inaugural NBA Sportsmanship Award in 1996. The six-time All-Star was selected in honor of his distinguished and dignified career and for symbolizing the tradition the NBA wants to recognize with this award.

Former NBA players Mike Bantom, Mark Jackson, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and Eric Snow selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts.

Following is a list of the all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship award:

1995-1996 Joe Dumars, Detroit (Inaugural winner)
1996-1997 Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-1998 Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-1999 Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-2000 Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-2001 David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-2002 Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-2003 Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-2004 P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2004-2005 Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-2006 Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-2007 Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-2008 Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns
2008-2009 Chauncey Billups, Denver Nuggets
photoBulls vs. Suns
Eric Bledsoe scores 23 points, Goran Dragic adds 21 as the Suns top the Bulls 99-93.
photoJan. 30: Daily Zap
Fly through a nine game evening in the Daily Zap.
photoPlay of the Day: Mike Scott
Al Horford blocks Will Barton's layup, in transition Mike Scott gets the fastbreak dunk.
photoBledsoe Comes Up Big
Eric Bledsoe shoots over Joakim Noah and lays it in off the glass to secure the Suns win Friday night.
photoNightly Notable: LaMarcus Aldridge
LaMarcus Aldridge scores 37 points (on 15 for 24 shots) with 11 rebounds in a tough loss to the hot Hawks.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.