Click here to Skip to main content
Ned Dishman/NBAE/Getty Images

Pacers' Granger wins Kia Most Improved Player Award

By Official Release
Posted May 12 2009 12:05PM

NEW YORK, May 12, 2009 -- Danny Granger of the Indiana Pacers is the winner of the 2008-09 NBA Most Improved Player Award presented by Kia Motors, the NBA announced today.

The annual award is presented to a player who has made a significant improvement from the previous season.

Granger received 364 of a possible 605 points, including 48 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

The New Jersey Nets' Devin Harris finished second with 339 points (43 first-place votes), followed by Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder with 83 points (six first-place votes).

Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third place vote received.

As part of its support of the Most Improved Player Award, Kia Motors America will donate either a new Borrego SUV or Sedona minivan on behalf of Granger to The Shepherd Community Center in Indianapolis. Kia Motors is presenting a brand new vehicle to the charity of choice of each of four 2008-09 season-end award winners as part of the "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors."

In his fourth year, Granger was the league's fifth leading scorer, averaging a career-high 25.8 points -- 6.2 points higher than 2007-08 (19.6 ppg) and 9.4 points above his career average (16.4 ppg) -- and becoming the first player in NBA history to raise his scoring average by at least five points in three consecutive seasons. Granger also averaged 5.1 rebounds and 2.7 assists.

The 6-9 forward led the Pacers in scoring in 49 of the 67 games he played, including 13 of their final 14 games. In his last 14 games, Granger shot 43-of-96 (.448) from three-point range and his 182 three-pointers made this season rank third all time in Pacer's history.

The 2008-09 NBA Most Improved Player Award presented by Kia Motors is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors." The awards, which are part of a multi-year marketing partnership that makes Kia Motors America the official automotive partner of the NBA, also include the Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year, and Sixth Man Awards. The series also includes the Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month presented by Kia Motors. For more information on the "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors" visit

Below are the 2008-09 voting results and the all-time NBA Most Improved Player of the Year Award presented by Kia Motors winners:

Player Team 1st 2nd 3rd Pts
Danny Granger Indiana 48 37 13 364
Devin Harris New Jersey 43 35 19 339
Kevin Durant Oklahoma City 6 14 11 83
Paul Millsap Utah 3 13 23 77
Nen Denver 7 5 8 58
Rajon Rondo Boston 2 5 4 29
David Lee New York 1 3 11 25
John Salmons Chicago 2 2 1 17
Thaddeus Young Philadelphia 1 2 5 16
Von Wafer Houston 2 - 2 12
Brandon Roy Portland 1 1 - 8
Chris Andersen Denver 1 - 1 6
J.R. Smith Denver 1 - 1 6
Glen Davis Boston 1 - - 5
Jason Terry Dallas 1 - - 5
Wilson Chandler New York 1 - - 5
Aaron Brooks Houston - 1 1 4
Jameer Nelson Orlando - 1 1 4
Kelenna Azubuike Golden State - - 3 3
Dwyane Wade Miami - 1 - 3
LaMarcus Aldridge Portland - 1 - 3
Roger Mason San Antonio - - 3 3
Luis Scola Houston - - 2 2
Ronnie Brewer Utah - - 2 2
Kendrick Perkins Boston - - 1 1
Emeka Okafor Charlotte - - 1 1
Gerald Wallace Charlotte - - 1 1
Tyrus Thomas Chicago - - 1 1
Mo Williams Cleveland - - 1 1
J.J. Barea Dallas - - 1 1
Mike Conley Memphis - - 1 1
Rasual Butler New Orleans - - 1 1
Andrea Bargnani Toronto - - 1 1
Jeff Green Oklahoma City - - 1 1
1985-86 Alvin Robertson, San Antonio
1986-87 Dale Ellis, Seattle
1987-88 Kevin Duckworth, Portland
1988-89 Kevin Johnson, Phoenix
1989-90 Rony Seikaly, Miami
1990-91 Scott Skiles, Orlando
1991-92 Pervis Ellison, Washington
1992-93 Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, Denver
1993-94 Don MacLean, Washington
1994-95 Dana Barros, Philadelphia
1995-96 Gheorghe Muresan, Washington
1996-97 Isaac Austin, Miami
1997-98 Alan Henderson, Atlanta
1998-99 Darrell Armstrong, Orlando
1999-00 Jalen Rose, Indiana
2000-01 Tracy McGrady, Orlando
2001-02 Jermaine ONeal, Indiana
2002-03 Gilbert Arenas, Golden State
2003-04 Zach Randolph, Portland
2004-05 Bobby Simmons, L.A. Clippers
2005-06 Boris Diaw, Phoenix
2006-07 Monta Ellis, Golden State
2007-08 Hedo Turkoglu, Orlando
2008-09 Danny Granger, Indiana
photoNBA TV Update
NBA TV has the latest headlines from around the Association.
photoNBA TV Update: 3 Pointers at 3
NBA TV has the latest headlines from around the Association.
photoChristmas Day Preview: Wizards vs. Knicks
Find out what to look for when John Wall and the Wizards take on Carmelo Anthony and the Knicks on Christmas Day.
photoChristmas Day Preview: Warriors vs. Clippers
Find out what to watch for when Steph Curry and the Warriors face Chris Paul and the Clippers in the Christmas nightcap.
photoChristmas Day Preview: Lakers vs. Bulls
Check out what to watch for when Kobe and the Lakers face Derrick Rose and the Bulls on Christmas Day.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.