Click here to Skip to main content

Denver's Mark Warkentien named NBA Executive of the Year

By Official Release
Posted May 3 2009 3:04PM

NEW YORK -- Mark Warkentien, Denver Nuggets Vice President of Basketball Operations, has been named the recipient of the 2008-09 NBA Executive of the Year award.

The Nuggets just completed their fifth 50-win season in the team's NBA history, while qualifying for the postseason for the sixth consecutive year. Denver won its sixth division title since joining the NBA in 1976, including the second in the last four seasons. The Nuggets finished the 2008-09 regular season tied for the second best record and earned the second seed in the Western Conference playoffs by owning tiebreakers over both San Antonio and Portland.

Since his arrival in Denver in the summer of 2005 as Director of Player personnel, the Nuggets have orchestrated numerous transactions while maintaining a high level of success. On Nov. 3, 2008, Warkentien netted four-time All-Star and Denver native Chauncey Billups via trade with Detroit, giving the Nuggets an established floor leader and seasoned postseason performer. During Warkentien's tenure, the Nuggets also signed two-time All-Star Carmelo Anthony to a contract extension, re-signed Nenê and J.R. Smith, signed free agent Chris Andersen, and acquired Renaldo Balkman.

Warkentien received nine of a possible 30 votes from a panel of his NBA Executives throughout the NBA. Cleveland's Danny Ferry finished second with seven votes, Orlando's Otis Smith finished third with six votes, the Los Angeles Lakers' Mitch Kupchak and Chicago's John Paxson were tied for fourth with two votes apiece, and Denver's Rex Chapman, Houston's Darryl Morey, Utah's Kevin O'Connor, Oklahoma City's Sam Presti each received one vote.

All-time NBA Executive of the Year Award Winners
1972-73 Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha
1973-74 Eddie Donovan, Buffalo
1974-75 Dick Vertlieb, Golden State
1975-76 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1976-77 Ray Patterson, Houston
1977-78 Angelo Drossos, San Antonio
1978-79 Bob Ferry, Washington
1979-80 Red Auerbach, Boston
1980-81 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1981-82 Bob Ferry, Washington
1982-83 Zollie Volchok, Seattle
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85 Vince Boryla, Denver
1985-86 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1986-87 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1987-88 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1988-89 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1989-90 Bob Bass, San Antonio
1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter, Portland
1991-92 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1992-93 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1993-94 Bob Whitsitt, Seattle
1994-95 Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1996-97 Bob Bass, Charlotte
1997-98 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1998-99 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
1999-00 John Gabriel, Orlando
2000-01 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
2001-02 Rod Thorn, New Jersey
2002-03 Joe Dumars, Detroit
2003-04 Jerry West, Memphis
2004-05 Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix
2005-06 Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-07 Bryan Colangelo, Toronto
2007-08 Danny Ainge, Boston
2008-09 Mark Warkentien, Denver
photoJan. 31: Daily Zap
Fly through a eleven game evening in the Daily Zap.
photoJan. 31: Top 10
Count down the top ten plays from Saturday night's action on the hardwood.
photoSuns vs. Warriors
Stephen Curry scored 25 points and added 7 assists as the Warriors topped the Suns Saturday night.
photoGiannis' Windmill Dunk
Khris Middleton gets the steal and finds Giannis Antetokounmpo for the nasty windmill dunk.
photoLeBron Battles Wiggins
Highlights from the battle between LeBron James and Andrew Wiggins in tonight's action as the Cavs defeat the Timberwolves.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.