Click here to Skip to main content
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Nuggets' Billups named Sportsmanship Award winner

By Official Release
Posted Apr 29 2009 7:14AM

NEW YORK -- Chauncey Billups of the Denver Nuggets is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2008-09 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

A 12-year veteran, Billups was one of six divisional winners, which included Boston's Ray Allen, Detroit's Antonio McDyess, Golden State's Ronny Turiaf, San Antonio's Michael Finley and Washington's Antawn Jamison.

Billups received 82 first-place votes (2,478 total points) of a possible 336.

For the fifth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players Mike Bantom, John Crotty, Eddie Johnson, Jalen Rose, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and Chris Webber then selected the six divisional winners.

The NBA will make a donation on behalf of Chauncey Billups to Porter-Billups Leadership Academy at Regis University, a program that provides academic and leadership training to at-risk inner city students from Denver, with a goal of helping students attend college.

The NBA will also make a donation to each of the divisional winner's charities of choice: Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation & Ray of Hope Foundation on behalf of Allen; American Cancer Society on behalf of McDyess and Turiaf; the Michael Finley Foundation on behalf of Finley; and Kaboom & Wizards Care on Jamison's behalf.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.

Following is a list of this year's voting totals and all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship Award:

2008-09 Sportsmanship Voting Award Totals
Player (Team) 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Total points
Chauncey Billups (Nuggets) 82 69 73 64 38 10 2478
Ray Allen (Celtics) 76 60 50 35 38 77 2092
Antonio McDyess (Pistons) 40 82 51 43 74 46 2018
Antawn Jamison (Wizards) 42 46 77 74 65 32 2012
Michael Finley (Spurs) 32 49 57 73 77 48 1836
Ronny Turiaf (Warriors) 64 30 28 47 44 123 1660
photoCousins Big Night
DeMarcus Cousins finishes with 39 points and 20 rebounds.
photoCeltics vs. Knicks
Isaiah Thomas scores 18 points and dishes out 6 assists as the Celtics defeat the Knicks 96-92.
photoIn The Nick Of Time
Eric Bledsoe finds Marcus Morris for a long two to beat the buzzer at the end of the first quarter.
photoHornets vs. Wizards
John Wall explodes for 32 points, nine rebounds and dishes out nine assists to edge Al Jefferson's 31 as the Wizards top the Hornets in double overtime.
photoHeat vs. Hawks
DeMarre Carroll with 24 points and Paul Millsap with 21 points and 9 rebounds lead the Hawks over the Heat, 99-86.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.