Click here to Skip to main content

2009 NBA All-Star ballot unveiled

By Art Garcia,
Posted Nov 12 2008 2:54PM

Let the voting begin.

The league unveiled the official 2009 NBA All-Star ballot today at a star-studded happening in Phoenix. The Suns were well represented with Shaquille O'Neal, Amar'e Stoudemire, Grant Hill and Raja Bell among those casting the first ballots for the midseason showcase that returns to Phoenix on Feb. 15.

They chose from a ballot that includes 120 players split evenly between the Eastern and Western Conference. Each side has 24 guards, 24 forwards and 12 centers. Voters can select two guards, two forwards and one center from each conference.

Last week's blockbuster Pistons-Nuggets trade did alter the ballot. Online voting does reflect Allen Iverson' move to the East and Chauncey Billups in the West. Paper ballots were printed before the trade, so votes cast for Iverson, Billups or Antonio McDyess will be counted toward their new team and conference.

Voting will continue through Jan. 11 for paper balloting. and wireless voting will begin Thursday and continue through Jan. 19.

Also on hand today were Phoenix mayor Phil Gordon and a pair of former players -- Detlef Schrempf and Glen Rice -- who were in Phoenix when the All-Star Game was last played in the Valley of the Sun. Rice took home the 3-Point Shootout title in 1995 and Schrempf played in the game.

Related Story
All-Star 2009 FAQ
Do you want to purchase tickets to the All-Star game? Want to find out how to volunteer at one of the coolest sporting events around? Find the answers to your questions in this FAQ. Read Full Article
Related Video
Amar'e talks All-Star Game
Suns All-Star forward Amar'e Stoudemire talks about what it means to have the 2009 All-Star Game in Phoenix.
Play 1:08
Related Video
Suns cast their votes
Shaq, Grant Hill, Raja Bell and Amar'e Stoudemire cast their votes and it's no surprise their team is stacked with Suns.
Play 4:45

The 2009 NBA All-Star Game from US Airways Center will air live on TNT and ESPN Radio in the U.S., and in more than 200 countries and territories worldwide.

The balloting program allows fans around the world to vote daily for the five starters from the West and East. Fans can vote at every NBA arena, in 20 languages on, and on T-Mobile phones or for any wireless carrier.

Fans can also get the word out through a T-Mobile All-Star widget available on The widget can be placed on blogs, social network pages or personal websites to allow others to vote directly from the widget.

As the presenting partner of the All-Star balloting program, T-Mobile will donate $1 for every ballot cast on t-zones and T-Mobile's wireless Web portal to help the youth of Phoenix. It's part of the NBA's season-long effort to better various communities throughout Phoenix.

The week leading up to the 58th NBA All-Star Game features a full slate of community activities and fan festivals, such as NBA All-Star Jam Session presented by adidas and the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam on Feb. 13.

In conjunction with the balloting, 2K Sports is giving fans a chance to win a trip to the All-Star Game through the NBA 2K9 Sweepstakes. The winner will also have their likeness as a digitized player incorporated in next year's NBA 2K10 video game.

The players on the ballot were selected by a panel of media who regularly cover the NBA. This year's panel: Paul Coro (Arizona Republic), Ernie Johnson (TNT), Jack McCallum (Sports Illustrated), David Moore (Dallas Morning News), Marc Spears (Boston Globe) and Marc Stein (


Ray Allen, Boston; Gilbert Arenas, Washington; Mike Bibby, Atlanta; Chauncey Billups, Detroit-Denver; Jose Calderon, Toronto; Vince Carter, New Jersey; Jamal Crawford, New York; Raymond Felton, Charlotte; TJ Ford, Indiana; Ben Gordon, Chicago; Richard Hamilton, Detroit; Devin Harris, New Jersey; Joe Johnson, Atlanta; Stephon Marbury, New York; Andre Miller, Philadelphia; Jameer Nelson, Orlando; Anthony Parker, Toronto; Michael Redd, Milwaukee; Jason Richardson, Charlotte; Luke Ridnour, Milwaukee; Rajon Rondo, Boston; Derrick Rose, Chicago; Dwyane Wade, Miami; Mo Williams, Cleveland.
Michael Beasley, Miami; Chris Bosh, Toronto; Elton Brand, Philadelphia; Caron Butler, Washington; Luol Deng, Chicago; Mike Dunleavy, Indiana; Kevin Garnett, Boston; Danny Granger, Indiana; Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia; LeBron James, Cleveland; Antawn Jamison, Washington; Richard Jefferson, Milwaukee; Rashard Lewis, Orlando; Shawn Marion, Miami; Antonio McDyess, Detroit-Denver; Andres Nocioni, Chicago; Paul Pierce, Boston; Tayshaun Prince, Detroit; Zach Randolph, New York; Josh Smith, Atlanta; Hedo Turkoglu, Orlando; Gerald Wallace, Charlotte; Marvin Williams, Atlanta; Yi Jianlian, New Jersey.
Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee; Eddy Curry, New York; Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia; Brendan Haywood, Washington; Al Horford, Atlanta; Dwight Howard, Orlando; Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Cleveland; Emeka Okafor, Charlotte; Jermaine O'Neal, Toronto; Kendrick Perkins, Boston; Ben Wallace, Cleveland; Rasheed Wallace, Detroit.
Rafer Alston, Houston; Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix; Raja Bell, Phoenix; Kobe Bryant, LA Lakers; Michael Conley, Memphis; Baron Davis, LA Clippers; Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City; Monta Ellis, Golden State; Derek Fisher, LA Lakers; Manu Ginobili, San Antonio; Allen Iverson, Denver-Detroit; Stephen Jackson, Golden State; Jason Kidd, Dallas; Kevin Martin, Sacramento; O.J. Mayo, Memphis; Tracy McGrady, Houston; Steve Nash, Phoenix; Tony Parker, San Antonio; Chris Paul, New Orleans; Brandon Roy, Portland; J.R. Smith, Denver; Jason Terry, Dallas; Beno Udrih, Sacramento; Deron Williams, Utah.
LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland; Carmelo Anthony, Denver; Ron Artest, Houston; Shane Battier, Houston; Carlos Boozer, Utah; Bruce Bowen, San Antonio; Tim Duncan, San Antonio; Pau Gasol, LA Lakers; Rudy Gay, Memphis; Grant Hill, Phoenix; Josh Howard, Dallas; Andrei Kirilenko, Utah; Kevin Love, Minnesota; Corey Maggette, Golden State; Kenyon Martin, Denver; Mike Miller, Minnesota; Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas; Lamar Odom, LA Lakers; Luis Scola, Houston; Peja Stojakovic, New Orleans; Amare Stoudemire, Phoenix; Al Thornton, LA Clippers; David West, New Orleans; Chris Wilcox, Oklahoma City.
Andris Biedrins, Golden State; Andrew Bynum, LA Lakers; Marcus Camby, LA Clippers; Tyson Chandler, New Orleans; Nick Collison, Oklahoma City; Al Jefferson, Minnesota; Chris Kaman, LA Clippers; Brad Miller, Sacramento; Greg Oden, Portland; Mehmet Okur, Utah; Shaquille O'Neal, Phoenix; Yao Ming, Houston.
photoHighlights: Jamal Murray
Jamal Murray scores 31 points and four assists to lead the Nuggets to a victory over the Pelicans.
photoCareer High For Kuzma
Kyle Kuzma scores a career-high 30 points with 10 rebounds in a loss to the Phoenix Suns.
photoDevin Booker Highlights
Devin Booker scores 33 points in a win versus the Lakers.
photoStarting Five: November 17th
Catch up on the headlines from a jam-packed Friday night across the Association.
photoThings Get Testy Late In LA
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope and Tyler Ulis get into an altercation after a timeout is called late in the fourth quarter and both teams have to be separated.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.